You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The State of the @NoNamesLeftToUse Address: I've Produced Over 200 New Works Of Art This Year — Probably Published Over One Million Words

in #art6 years ago

Man... I just post. There are a million and two tricks here. Once in awhile, I'll take one of my oldest solid posts, reformat it, make it look spiffy, fix old screw ups, produce a new cover, re-post. So much of my work most here today haven't even seen. As long as we're not being spammy about it, nobody seems to mind.

Sort:  

I think I agree with you re: the tricks. I come across various tricks here that seem worthwhile, so I try them out for a while, but invariably I find them lacking.

E.g., the delegation experiment I was recently experimenting with. I ended up undelegating most of it because I didn't like the terms, and so most of my SP should be back and available for me to use in a few days.

The more I look into Steem tricks, the more I'm thinking that the only way Steemit will survive at all is if it finds a way to prioritize organic content/curation over paid content/automation. You know this, of course. You've written about it plenty.

All that being said - I do think that the inability to earn on content past 7 days is a serious flaw in the Steemit platform. I don't believe that a content creator should have to think in terms of a 7-day window when it comes to collecting profit. Passive income should be a thing here, without having to delegate SP to accounts that accept bid buys. Something I wrote a year ago should still be available for rewards today, and tomorrow, and always.

I got used to the 7 day window when I compared this model to television. Those folks have one episode per week. Sink or swim. Not many more chances to earn from that episode until physical or digital copies are sold, or reruns. I would prefer a longer window but at the same time, I'm not sure many look at the old stuff aside from outside eyes that can't interact unless they sign up.

And yes, I've been yelling at the clouds for about a year and it sucks I was right and things only got worse.

Well, television has different earning models, doesn't it? So for example a network buys 10 episodes of a show and says Go, and the actors and showrunners et al get paid for all 10 episodes. So maybe they sink one week and swim the next, it doesn't matter, they still get paid according to their 10-week contract.

I guess the issue with that model is that, well, the actors/showrunners might get fired after 10 weeks if the network doesn't feel like the show was worth the investment, whereas here on Steemit you can just keep plugging away forever.

I get why Steemit has the 7 day window in place to delay rewards payout, but I just can't help but wonder if there's opportunity to implement a system for rewarding creators outside that window, too.