You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Should I Write About This: Dammit I Thought I Told Myself to Write Better Titles

in #art6 years ago

Someone recently pointed out that we should be posting with the understanding that our readers or potential readers are not on block chain. That we are posting to the wider web. I felt it was an important reminder.

I'm already ten steps ahead of you, @linnyplant. We used to have a view counter here and the reason why many of my older posts would receive hundreds if not thousands of views over time was because of my efforts behind the scenes pushing my links elsewhere. It's something I don't need to be reminded of and I take those extra steps to not only promote my own work, but the platform in general and the familiar faces seen leaving their two cents under my posts.

I didn't decide to get into this business and conclude from the beginning it would be all highs and no lows. I came fully prepared knowing the struggles I'd be facing. Just because I'm noticing things have slowed down, this doesn't mean I've turned a blind eye to the things that are going well.

If you look back into my history here, you'll see many posts with hundreds of comments. Over time, I got to know some of these people. One grows attached; you miss them when they're gone, you wonder how they're doing, you hope they're okay. Even while I was on break people wrote me and left kind, reassuring words. Some felt a bit down that I was gone. I still insist it is completely normal to feel a bit down when it gets quiet around here.

This doesn't mean I'm moaning, complaining and acting entitled. I was here, working my way up from the bottom, blogging for seven cent STEEM, never knowing if the value would ever rise, during times that were one hell of a lot quieter than now. When all you can hear is the sound of your own voice, then work up to the point where I'd spend sometimes five or more hours continuously responding to the reaction pouring in on a daily basis, you'll notice when it gets quieter. Things start messing with the mind. What did I do, what did I say, what am I doing wrong. Then I'm reading comments from you and another recently stating they're not really paying attention to the writing, so of course after these incidents I'm going to start feeling as if I should make changes, write less, and hopefully that's what people want. The thing is, I don't work for this minority who chooses to tell me how they ignore my efforts, I work for me, and I personally enjoy writing, even after hearing things like this:

It’s the same gig quite often. So I glance at the art and I skim.

Of course these kind of words will bring someone down, yet before this conversation took place, I was still working my butt off. After I said to you might slow down on the writing, I still worked my butt off, and I have plans for more posts coming right up here in the near future.

I’m only responding because you’re a decent guy and deserve a proper reply.

I'm only responding to set the record straight here on my blog. A lot of what you're saying contradicts who I am, what I stand for, where I've been, what I've done.

I'm finished with this conversation though and look forward to crossing paths with you in the future.

Have a nice day.

Sort:  

Minority me is glad to be finished with this convo too. I wouldn’t want to further offend you with my ignoring of your efforts, because that’s clearly what I’ve been doing in all the time I’ve spent on your blog. So I’m sure you can understand, my time is better elsewhere in future rather than crossing paths. You’re 10 steps ahead anyway. 🙄

You have a nice day too.

Minority me is glad to be finished with this convo too. I wouldn’t want to further offend you with my ignoring of your efforts, because that’s clearly what I’ve been doing in all the time I’ve spent on your blog.

There's no need to take things out of context and if you're doing it intentionally to get a rise out of me, that won't be happening. I'm chill.

Toodles!