What the Voices in My Head Look Like: Introducing The Helper While Moving Forward by Taking a Look Back (A Christmas Story Unlike Any Other)

in #art6 years ago

@NoNamesLeftToUse The Writer/Artist Himself has something to show you.
Gather round. Enjoy.

NoNamesLeftToUse - The Helper.jpeg
The Helper

I can hear them. I listen. When I close my eyes, I see them.

It was frightening at first. I was only a child.

What started with whispers and what seemed like shadows hiding in the corners of my eyes became all that is the amusement park of my mind.

Unavoidable. Best to embrace change. Keep living. Why die inside, when it feels so alive.



It Was Christmas

... and I was five.

I waited up all night for a fat man to fall down a fucking chimney.

I tried not to eat the cookies. Failed. Even the one I stashed under the middle couch cushion was gone. The milk? It would have went sour anyway. All of this stress along with the waiting could only help contribute to this feeling of what mom would call, a tummy ache.

I just called it gas and that wasn't the only thing I found out about some of the things my parents told me at that age.

Santa

... he doesn't work alone.

The Helper? While you're sitting there staring at the fireplace, he walks in the back door. He'll go straight for the fridge, no fucks given. Makes a sandwich, grabs a beer, sits down at the table.

When I got my first look at him, I became convinced Santa, one of the only words I knew how to write at the time, was spelled wrong. Something was lost in translation over the years. Satan's little helper made for more sense at this point.

I came to learn many years later that even the most pleasant of angels is a shocking sight that most people would not be comfortable with but that's a story, for another day.

He Spoke

...but not before freezing me with fear.

They were not expecting to be spotted by anyone that year.

He gazed at me and took control of my focus while I stood there looking like a freeze-frame of someone receiving a boot up their ass by force. With our eyes locked, "You're a bad boy."

No kid wants to hear that from someone who works for the bureau of Santa during the wee hours of Christmas morning. The mischievous smile that came equipped with those words somehow made it sound like music to my ears though. The fear melted away instantly. Then he asked me to look away.

I never saw him again.

 
When I finally woke up, my parents were impressed. Not only did they get to sleep in because I was awake all night and couldn't pull my ass out of bed. Those cookies. All but one were still sitting on the plate.

I noticed a note beside the cookies and ask my mom what it said. Apparently, Santa only wanted one cookie this year and I was allowed to have the rest. I thought I was still sleeping, having a strange nightmare where nothing makes sense but just keeps happening anyway.

Once everything that was Christmas to me for so many days before this was now inside a black plastic garbage bag on it's way to the curb, I had one more question.

I looked under the cushion. My secret hiding place. That busted up cookie I would have been murdered over if mom found out was there, wasn't. It was gone. The mess was cleaned up.

Then I was asked to go to the kitchen. I was excited! Off I went wondering what new surprises were in store. My dad was waiting for me and it looked like he had something really important to say.

"Son?"

"Did you drink daddy's beer?"

linebreak1
~Fin~

linebreak1
Credits:
All images seen here were produced digitally, by me.
"The stories that lead you all the way here..."
[email protected]

© 2017 Two Insanity Productions. All rights reserved.
Follow @NoNamesLeftToUse
(Click the link for previous posts!)

Sort:  

What a story bud. Sleep well little kiddies!

The art really grabs ya, says “hey, get the fuck over here and check this shit out”

Yeah. It's honest click bait. Grabbing attention to entertain rather than trying to sell you some crap that doesn't work or some self help guru shit.

Krampus, probably. I hear he's hiring this year.

If it was Krampus, those people who described him were drunk and/or stoned.

I've read your story. I love the idea. Thank you for sharing it among us

You're welcome.

Wow your post i awesome. I like your post. Good job. Your Idea is soo cool....... Thanks for sharing.

I almost missed this one. Man I'm off my steemit game lately.
That is one scary dude! If I saw that in my house I would pee myself, and not just when I was a kid, lol.
I miss the days when my own kids believed in santa, such a magical time. Now it's all 'Mom, I want steam games, and Mom I want gift cards'. Do you know what that leaves under the tree? The board games I insist on still buying them, lol. The only fun I get to still have is with the stockings.

Don't worry about it. Looks like I totally missed this comment!

Dude, you are very creative. Now I want to see a portrait of you tho. Who is the one behind this story?

A portrait of.. me? Those are rare.

As for the story. I just made this up on the fly. First I produced the image of The Helper, placed him in the editor, thought of my little joke at the end, then tried to figure out a way to get there. These things just happen. Sometimes I end up with something I'm truly proud of, other times not so much, but still happy.

Practice practice practice! :) I'm your new fan! And I'm requesting a rare portrait ;)

Tell you what. Since it's Christmas...

You get the 2 for 1 deal!

A rare portrait + the nightmare you wanted!!!

auhauahuahauhuhauh :D This is great!!!! You should have showed also your theeth! :D


This Man doesn't have any teeth.

I think it's lame that there aren't any emoji in this platform so I can reply to you properly! :P