You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Geraniums" Update

in #art6 years ago

Is it hard to stay "loose" and "painterly" when you work like this? It is rather different from the way you work on location. No inclination to go too far in detailing etc. when you have the time?

Sort:  

@ocrdu A very insightful comment. There is indeed the temptation to get very detailed and "tight" as it's called. But even though I have loads of time, I'm still using direct painting strokes as much as possible. This painting will have much more thought put into it so it will reflect that. If I have to sacrifice a bit of that spontaneous look I get on location, so be it. I'll be getting something else which I think will be the next step up from painting on location. Thanks for the good comment.