Sectional Elements - Abstract Compositions by American Artist Ryan Tippery

in #art6 years ago (edited)

When I came across these works by Chicago-based artist Ryan Tippery I was interested in the way in which he integrated natural looking patterns with flat coloured block elements. I've never really seen this mix before, so it was intriguing to contemplate the different patterns that he's been experimenting with and how his style is developing over time.

Ryan's main focus is abstraction, which stems from his deep interest in exploring psychology through art. In his bio he talks a bit about rational and intuitive ways of thinking and how we have a chaotic part of our mind and an area of restraint that's analytical and orderly. Ryan then uses his art as a way to show the contrast in these two ways of thinking and how they can possibly work hand in hand to compliment one another.

I always feel very precise with my thinking and the way in which I design, which sometimes makes my work lack in character and makes it harder to experiment with colour. Seeing artwork like this is very inspiring for me, it makes us all challenge our usual style and see how the other side might improve our work and balance everything out. Here are some artworks from Ryan's portfolio that I liked a lot, more like this can be found on his website linked below. Enjoy.

ryantippery.com

This article was also posted on my personal website here →


A Selection of Previous Posts:

Malfatti Glass - Functional Vessels by Daniel Spitzer and Jill Reynolds
Urban Shapes - Furniture by Belgian Design Studio & Workshop Nortstudio
Experimenting with Nature - Black Granite Sculptures by Japanese Artist Masaomi Raku
The Papermaker - A Short Film on German Craftsman Gangolf Ulbricht
Building on Systems - Lithographs, Etchings & Monoprints by Artist Elvia Perrin
Documenting Details - Imagery by German Photographer Friederike von Rauch


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content.

Works seen here by ryantippery.com

Sort:  

Hey @oen, i see you like art as much as we do,
and we would love to invite you to our Discord server.
On our discord you can find more people that like art
and you are possible to promote yourself. Keep on posting ;)
http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

Don't want to receive messages from us ?
Type @smartmediagroup STOP in a reply to us.
Note: there is no reply on this stop feature.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!