Art can be about many things

in #art8 years ago (edited)

I began making art like many children do by drawing cartoons and the like in the playground. Everyone can make art and most of us do when we are little. Somehow that gets knocked out of us as we grow up.

For me all was well and I enjoyed drawing until I was told “I was doing it wrong”, in a formal art class at 11. It doesn't take much to extinguish creativity, its a fragile thing , so I stopped .

At this time I was at school and none of my subjects were creative and I failed spectacularly and wandered into the world of dead end jobs . I ended up working on the oil rigs cooking. The shifts were 2 weeks on and two weeks off so I would work, bring back a bunch of money, get high, drink and make art. After a few years of this I went back into formal art education . By this stage I kind of figured this is what I do i.e. make art .

It wasn't so much as a career choice as an addiction, the challenge was how to pay the bills while making art.

Seven years later I emerged and set up a studio . I was selling fine sculptural pieces through galleries and art fairs globally and in the background experimenting with new concepts and the idea of working with content through imagery . It was a reinvention process from which the series on books evolved, here's one which seems appropriate given the current level of world turmoil.

Sort:  

imagination is border-less ^^

This is true, as is creativity , although both are very fragile states