You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art: Animated badges and banner for @acidyo!

in #art7 years ago

If some random guy called and asked for a price, I'd probably say $300... It takes so much time for me to do these!

Steemit - sometimes I'm feeling generous and do stuff for free, especially if I can get upvotes/publicity from it...

Right now my biggest deterrent is lack of time... I'd love to do a monthly giveaway for banner animations....

Sort:  

I think a monthly giveaway would be a great idea, so long as it's not piling on too much work on your plate, haha.

The exposure you'd get would net you some good followers more than likely as well, instead of just crappy follow4follow people or spam bots. Either way, just keep at it when you can, man!

@deadspace, I know right? I checked with an established motion graphics guy and he said he'd charge $750 to make a gif like that... yes, it's just a gif, but it's complicated for sure.

Thanks!

Damn, man, lol. I figured around $3-500 would be the going rate for short animations. Commissions that are that time consuming should bring a pretty penny though, so I'm not surprised.

It boils down to the complexity ... And this guy makes stuff for t.v. so of course he charges a lot!

So, I'm guessing someone wouldn't wanna trade me $3.50 and perhaps a chicken for some custom animated artwork then? :(

Also, sounds like you know some interesting people, lol.

The issue most of all is I just don't have time to give discount work... Unless I get some big publicity, etc... I have some heavy burdens to carry and it requires my full attention... :-/

Who knows maybe life will turn around one day...

I was just joking around, man. Thought the chicken thing would make it obvious, lol. You don't have or need to do discount work for anyone, there's nothing wrong with that at all. You charge whatever you value your work at, that's just how selling stuff works, haha. Especially if you're sinking a shit ton of time into making stuff. I wouldn't expect someone who spends 10 hours making me something to accept $8 an hour or something. Time costs money :P

And, I'm sure life will turn around for you someday for sure. I'm not in a great place myself, so I know it sucks ass. Just keep working and hustling, dude :)