A new artwork coming out of an old one

in #art7 years ago

I did this face of books about 10 years ago, and sold it 5 years ago. A few days ago to the collector who bought it happened an household accident that caused a break in the artwork. So he brought it to me to fix it.

The artwork is split apart, but it looks interesting to me now, expecially the background part with a sketch painting emerging from it.

I'm going to pitch the collector to get 2 artworks instead of one, keeping the 2 parts separated. But I don't think he will like it :)

Anyway, my new artwork is  part of the old one, with the sketch I drew there.


And below are the steps to create it, 10 years ago, before the break:


I think I'm going to do another shape on books like that, to recreate the effect of the broken one.

Sort:  

Is this book as a medium? very cool brother

I love this! The using the books slightly reminds me of Jasper Johns use of newspapers. Have upped, resteemed and followed! Inspiring work.

thank you! :)

I'm not sure what I think about this, I kind of have mixed feelings. 1st it's art and it have beauty, but 2nd that os madde from books - we should read them, not tear them apart for art. And in the same time 3rd - there are many books that are thrown away, or burnt, or just forgotten. Isn't it better to give second chance, second life to it. As I said it's complicated.

Congratulations for the hard work! :)

How large was your first work? Was it done with full sized books? I like both but the first one is awesome because you used books. Were the books of a particular subject or were they just random books?

it is about 75x110 cm, and done of real books, medium size. the books come from a bookshelf filled with bad romance novels and expendable essays I collect for this purpose :)

Wow! Very cool; I can see why he wouldn't want it changed, then again, I can see why you like the "broken" one.

Very interested to see where you go next with this :-)

Cg

@paolobeneforti Stunning Great Work upvoted dear visit my wall when you free thanks alot have a nice day