My First Experience Sewing with a Machine

in #art6 years ago

IMG_20180530_085514.jpg

My sister and mum had this small talk of getting a sewing machine. Two days ago they sat down analyzing the possible cost of getting one. I sat in front of my computer designing as usual.

Busy selecting those minute pixels so that I can come up with a graphics that can touch the heart and reach the soul.

Thursday it was. My sis told me she was going to the town of Kabusa in Abuja-Nigeria, for preparations for one of our ex-neighbors’ white wedding. ‘Go safe, and make sure you get back as well’; was all I could utter.

She came back on the eve of the wedding. Hurriedly the following day she got up and poof! She was gone. She was off to the wedding, before I could even open my eyes for the day. Well the wedding started and ended obviously.
But the wedding isn't the highlight of this story.

My experience with the sewing machine is.
After taking some photos with the crowd at the wedding, my Dad drove his Mercedes to a place in town called Nyaya. We were going to a market. We got there and got pretty confused; we didn’t know how to locate a sewing machine store. So my ever energetic Mum got down the vehicle and asked a shop owner some questions. Boom! That was the magic; we were now on our way to a shop, led by a strange young man.

We reached the store safely. Yeah! Quite unhurt! I'm just kidding. The new shop owners we met told us the price of his goods and after some little bargain a point of interest was reached. The money for the sewing machine was paid and servicing for the new sewing machine commenced. We were off!

We got back to the wedding just in time to meet the refreshment part of the reception. We settled down to plate of delicious rice. This is a normal staple food in a typical Nigerian party. I also drank a malt drink. Yes! We left for home after enjoying all that.

My Sister made it a big deal to launch her new Money Making Machine (a word I used in teasing her). Not down until Monday's evening. As for me, I was very patient. I didn’t want to push her to flex her own stuff. Well, so typical of me though.

She finally mounted the machine on its stand and gave me some lessons which I grabbed like a genius. Then we came the hard part; peddling. I am not still good at that even up till now. She excused herself for me to seat in front of the sewing machine and make trial. Well, the first few times I tried, I didn't get it.

Then she gave me room and I surprised myself as I peddled all the way. This was day one.

Day two came. Learning to sew with a thread fixed inside the machine's needle. Now every time I tried to peddle, the thread keeps snapping. This was really a hard stage but I told myself that I was going to scale through with shining efforts

As for Day Three, you will have to anticipate lol.