"Circle Of The Dragon" Tokenized Artwork

in #art5 years ago

MoonlightGrotto.jpg

"Circle of the Dragon"

This artwork is an attempt at getting a bit back to the more abstract artworks I've made in the past.

I feel like I've been focusing a bit too much on creating animations lately, and it's not quite the relaxing activity that just experimenting with combinations of GIMP, Deepdreamgenerator and Weavesilk was in the beginning.

Circle Of The Dragon involves a couple of GIMP filters I had yet to find a use for, as well as some Deep Style settings I had only used in a few cases before.

I hope you like it, even if it is a lot less "alive" than some of the last artworks I created ;)


Weavesilk

As usual, I started with a Weavesilk drawing.

I love how random movements can create extremely pleasing to look at patterns in this tool !

index.png

Deep Style

I then sent it through Deep Style with just a few different styles, to see what came out

As you can see, one I found one I liked, I began adjusting the minute settings in the Deep Style, trying to extract an interesting pattern

5e6760fcfc3a80224a812de79b0dbcee9cb5bc9a.jpg

a0833460328c3d592988674b77ad98b4bc660568.jpg

d698c6e2205db0b28411d09078f2142629d3df1f.jpg

71aeceafd64b94f11a23ffeec0631321ed8db4f0.jpg

GIMP

I then used GIMP to combine the different layers together, in a superposition of elements

G3VtPBw0gA.png

I then cut out the part that I found most interesting, after duplicating the image to make sure I still had the background.

The, I applied to the background image a filter from G'MIC-qt called Aurora:

buMoaFY9DA.png

This gave an interesting pattern for the background:
LvobmuTUto.png

I then worked around the outlines of the shape with the Smudge tool to ease the discordance and introduce some smoothness to the outlines, as well as removing some of the remaining colors around the main shape I cut off earlier.

ECq8jXTHbW.png

I played a bit with the color levels, then attempted to see how it'd look with different filters applied :

FY3uwElKj0.png

BZns3Z8BYS.png

I finally decided to just go with it as is, and instead apply the Illusion filter as an overlay, as I've always wanted to try and incorporate it somehow:

lvIa5x2t5o.png

back to Deep Style

Back to the generator I went, wanting to have a look at some extra styles of this new version:

When I found the pattern, I redid the Deep Style using the highest quality settings, while keeping the colors of the original image.

And, after combining in GIMP

XB5EVTu7sP.png

I was done !

MoonlightGrotto.jpg

https://superrare.co/artwork/circle-of-the-dragon-4289


I hope you liked this artwork !

As always, my art is released under CC-BY

Sort:  

Hi pbock,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you !
Always love when I manage to get your attention ;)

I find this publication spectacular. I love the step-by-step description of how you achieved your final work. The work is abstract but it has movement and you deserve a big round of applause. I did not understand much about the use of filters. I hope this new cycle of creations is relaxing and successful. Greetings @pbock

Thank you very much :)

I love taking notes on how I create these artworks, and sharing them :)

The filters vary between knowing what you want to make, and/or just playing around with whatever filter you think sounds interesting. Maybe it works, maybe it doesn't, but I find it's always fun to see what happens :)

What a great talent you have! A lot of art in its splendor, really congratulations for your great effort :D

thank you !

I haven't enjoyed abstract art in the past but I slowly started to accept that I can't understand everything in this world and I began to enjoy the shapes and colors more. This is a spectacular piece of work. I love the color and the combination. I also like the step by step instructions.

Well done! Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

thank you :)

I'm glad you were able to enjoy it.
Have a lovely day too !