3D Printing On Canvas

in #art6 years ago
I had this idea to 3D print on canvas a few weeks back. So while my wife and I were at Hobby Lobby the other day I decided to grab a pack of small 4" by 4" square canvas. I removed the glass print bed on my printer and taped down the canvas in the middle of the print area. After finding what I wanted to print on the canvas, I set my printer to print just a few mm above the canvas so I could make adjustments in the print code for the location of the canvas on the bed. Then I set the print nozzle close to the canvas to push the melted plastic into the fibers of the canvas. I used a 0.35mm nozzle but smaller nozzles can be used to get greater detail, such as a 0.25mm nozzle. Dual extruders can be used for two colors and/or two materials, which would greatly improve future possibilities.


Final Product!





BLAM!

PepperNickel Blog
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Thanks guys, I'll check out your stuff.

Inspiring! I think I’ll use it for this years crismas card :)

Great idea! Snowmen, snowflakes, and christmas trees come to mind. Maybe experiment with different fibrous card stocks to find what works best.

Cool idea, how well does it stick to the canvas?

It sticks really well if the nozzle is close to the canvas. If it's too high up from the canvas, the print will peel off.

very interesting...

I'll have to look into doing this when I get my 3D printer.
Thanks for sharing the results of your experiment :)

Thank you. I think a similar process could be used to 3D print on acrylic for nameplates, logos, and other signs. I believe I posted a video of drawing with the extruder replaced with a pen for you want to check that out.

I'll check it out :)
At that point your nearly turning the 3D printer into a volume restricted robotic arm.

Hmm... now I'm imagining spider bots crawling along glass buildings slightly scratching their glass to make a rough surface, then 3D printing a competitors logo onto a building 😅

True but it's another tool in the tool box for what a 3D printer can do.

I could see the future going in that direction. AI will be of great assistance to make robotics that elegant.

Congratulations @peppernickel! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!