Visiting the new, largest contemporary African art museum on the continent in Cape Town

in #art7 years ago

The museum opened its doors on the 22 of September 2017 and we could not wait to go check it out..

Wow, just WOW!

David and I visited the new museum which was named the "Zeitz Mocaa," and we were absolutely blown away!

The museum is architectually so beautiful as it was reinvented from a century old grain Silo in Cape Town.

The museum is located at the popular VNA Waterfront in Cape Town, which is an upmarket shopping centre, surrounded by the harbour, outdoor restaurants and beautiful views of the mountain.

Zeitz Mocaa was funded by Jochen Zeitz and the VNA Waterfront.

I recommend anybody visiting South Africa, who is interested in art and architecture, to visit this museum, you will not be disappointed...

I really am a proud Capetonian, this museum is world class and an unforgettable experience!!

Please note, none of these artworks are mine...I want to share some of the photos I took of the artworks with my fellow steemers... because it was a beautiful, cultural and inspirational experience.

FB_IMG_1506578386598.jpg

Here I am walking through one of the installation works by artist: Kendell Geers..

I loved this piece as there were two ways you could walk, one through the piece, dodging the hanging bricks or walk around, which was the safest, easiest route... I loved how the artist made the viewer choose his or her path...

IMG_20170927_122031.jpg

Another pic of the same work, in colour (Kendell Geers).
You can see how the artist has attached the bricks via a red rope that looks like a noose... this was definitely one of my favourite works.

David took the above photo...

Another one of my favourites was the entrance artwork by Nicholas Hlobo, as seen below...this is the first piece you see as you enter the museum.

IMG_20170927_123942.jpg

I found the piece below absolutely exquisite:IMG_20170927_122227.jpg

This piece was a collaboration between Kudzanai Chiurai and Marianne Fassler.. breathtaking isnt it?

I dont want to be a spoil, so I wont be uploading anymore pics of the artworks as I hope that some steemers will be visiting Cape Town and the Zeitz Mocca in the near future.

FB_IMG_1506578374781.jpg

Thats David and I inside the Gallery.. just a glimpse of the architecture.

Hope you enjoyed reading,

Love P

Sort:  

Congratulations @piajessica! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!