DREAMER! (An original pencil portrait)

in #art4 years ago

FB_IMG_1586939987821.jpg

I give you "Dreamer" (2018/2019), done for countless hours spread across several months. I've grown and learnt a lot while doing this piece, even in my personal life. Take your time to read about it and try to sync the words with the art.

promiseart____B5KYsscAWor___.jpg

A little story about the art
I had randomly taken the reference photo (a selfie) during my government mandated service year at Katsina state, a long way away from home. It wasn't until much later after I had returned home from serving my country that I stumbled on the picture in my gallery and saw it in a whole different light. I saw this strong gesture of Hope in my face surrounded by a lot of relatable items. I decided to make art out of it as best as I could.

promiseart____B4op1vFjuA1___.jpg

promiseart____B4-SslxAWwd___.jpg

It was quite the challenging process, especially the hat which must have taken over 100 hours to make it look hyper-realistic. There were several breaks, some for months at a stretch due to other commissioned drawings, some laziness (I have to admit), art droughts and some travelling around too. The breakthrough came immediately I managed to finish the hat. Choosing to jump to the face before the hat was finished really helped boost my morale and once this stage was passed the rest went smoothly mostly. Words can't describe the joy I felt when this piece was completed, I literally started running and jumping around my house 😄. DREAMER served as a turning point in my career, the first of many of such to come!

promiseart__3___B3ZJ1IxDVac___.jpg

Art is to be percieved differently by different people so feel free to deduce what you may from this one. Below however is my own perception about this piece of mine, the inspiration that came to my mind as I set my eyes on the reference picture. It may be more understood by those who have seen struggling and poverty first hand, those who have had to fight for all they accomplished.

DREAMER, that resilient youth poised to succeed against all odds, in the harshest conditions.

The harshest conditions...
A background of rust and decay (aluminum sheets and wood), a poverty stricken run of early years. Feeding is a privilege, education a luxury, anything goes for clothes, shelter unsheltering. Low self esteem their favorite breakfast, brains never taught inquisitiveness. Wealth is for a select few they learn daily, the rich are all cheating thieves. The Dreamer turns their back to all.

A thick canopy of religious and cultural misconceptions, braced by political incompetence (raffia hat). It casts a pitch black shadow of difficulty, the perfect recipe for poverty. The view is limited and distorted, irrelevant self inflicted chains that make it near impossible to challenge the status quo, to reason objectively. The Dreamer raises his gaze above it all.

A failed educational system (The shirt), that has many find their true paths halfway through the wrong one, or even after. One that results in them switching fields like herdsmen, that focuses on slaving rather than creating. The Dreamer unbuttons and breaks free.

Dreamer; that resilient youth poised to succeed against all odds, in the harshest conditions, determined to make good of the little things that no one can take...

THINGS NO ONE CAN TAKE;
Resilience, focus, dedication (The gaze). The attributes that set apart the successful, the innovators, the history makers. The Thomas Edisons, the Henry Fords, The Promise Abodunrins.

Time (The watch). The most important asset, one that we have full control over, and yes we have lots of it. We will make good of it and inscribe our names in history, never to be forgotten.

ARE YOU A DREAMER?

FB_IMG_1586939991350.jpg

Title: Dreamer
Artist: Promise Abodunrin
Medium: Graphite and charcoal on paper
Duration: countless hours, spread across 2 years.

Please feel free to share your thoughts and leave a thumbs up before you leave, thanks for stopping by.

PEACE✌🏾

Sort:  

A breath of fresh air for Hives front page. wish you the best, love your work I would love to see some how to vloging of your art and some tutorials. Hopefuly in English keep it up buddy.
Just to make sure you are not a victim of plagiarism I send you a tweet at your account for cross confirmation.

Capture.PNG

Hope you the best.

here is the tweet for anyone interesting if he will confirm it or not.

Hive on

Thank you Akinola Olatunde is a good friend, nothing to worry about there. I actually tried making tutorials once but I wasn't sure I had an audience, I got discouraged after a few trials.

Thanks for the verify. wish you the best.

Well done, really amazing piece,thanks for sharing! and keep the dream alive...

Thanks a lot, I sure will!

This is an amazing piece. 2 years?!?!? That is some serious dedication. It turned out truly beautiful. Thank you for sharing this with us.

Thank you so much!

Wow. Incredible work.

Thanks a lot!

Oh man, I hope your post hits the $500 minimum, you deserve it!

Thanks a lot, I'd lose it if I even got a quarter of that lol!

An extraordinary work of art can only be achieved with a lot of talent and dedication. You have achieved this because you have a lot of both. My admiration for you. Many congratulations, @promisearts it is an impeccable and wonderful piece.

Thanks so much for your kind words, I'm really grateful.

This is nice

Wowowo that👉 is one of the best drawing I have ever seen. I love art I do it but am an amateure. Hope you could recommend to me an app that would help me improve my skills 😉.

Wow thanks a lot, I hope you get much better. YouTube has all you need really but l'm always here to answer any questions you may too. Cheers!

An amazing piece of art. So talented!

Thanks a lot, glad you like it.

This is so far the best pencil portrait ive ever seen in Hive.

Wow, thanks a lot. I'm glad you like it.

We have all dreamed once in a lifetime or many @promisearts. I congratulate you for a beautiful portrait, you captured all its essence and all its perfect details.

Thank you so much, may all our dreams come true!

Really an amazing artwork, one of the best portraits I've seen in my life. Couldn't tell if is a picture or not if I hadn't viewed the proccess.

Thanks a lot for your kind words, I'm glad you like it!