Visit To Red Clay

in #artlast year

In the country that I come from, there are only a few museums that you come to find and talking more of museums, the part of the country that I’m from, Northern Ghana, never has a museum and so we never know what it’s like.

Since there’s always development and growth in every country and city, there’s this brilliant man called Ibrahim Mahama, born in the Northern Region of Ghana, currently using art to develop the northern part of Ghana.

It’s very interesting with the projects he’s coming up with and I believe the coming generations are going to enjoy it. A lot is going on.

Ibrahim Mahama is the founder of Red Clay, a museum in the Northern Region and a couple of studios that won him millions of dollars worth to build and do more with art.

One afternoon a friend invited me to follow him so we could go explore this brilliant man’s project, growing up, I have never gone on execution nor visited any prominent places, not even traveling out of my locality. So this was a big opportunity for me and besides, it’s even in my local community.

So he took me to the studio first, where we explored a lot, library, old pictures talking about the dressings of olden northerner and their family, and lots of stuff.

There was even this project called the vacuum jet, which uses gallons to produce sound, it was amazing to see all this, they’re really intelligent people who can change the world and to my surprise makers were blacks, how interesting.

After the studio, we moved to the museum, which is still uncompleted, a lot of projects are going on there and when you go there, the workers will take you around and explain every bit of stuff in detail for you even with the ongoing projects.

There’s a place for archives, where you will find most of the old or past events materials and my favorite ongoing project is the old trains which he said will be converted into classrooms where kids will be taught coding, this is my passion, I’m an intermediate programmer and I see this as an opportunity and growth to the northern society as well as Ghana at large.

Red Clay is an amazing place to visit, you will learn a lot about the past and what the future holds. I enjoyed this exploration very much because from young age till now, I’ve never experienced anything like this before which is always what I want to do, I love to discover new things and learn new things as well as use such knowledge to solve problems, I’ll love to go to Red Clay again and I’ll write about it again soon. Thank you all for reading this post and I hope it’s helpful. Cheers