Viking Ship

in #art2 years ago

Hello!

I am still into northern European mythology and history. After I watched the TV series American Gods. I started researching Odin and the pantheon of Gods from the Nordic traditions

I discovered a heathen revival, and not all Viking and old pre-Christian traditions have died. Like in Iceland, the people kept family traditions of the old ways while outwardly fitting into the dominant Christan culture.

The Heathens culture was not destroyed entirely. Ancient practices, culture, and religion were incorporated into the new Christian faith. That's the way most people viewed religion, Gods, and deities in the pre-Christian days. If someone traveled on trading routes and met a God they identified with, they would incorporate that specific God and practice into their devotional practice. There is a massive heathen/pagan revival from Russia, the Balkans, and Europe.

I'm a Buddhist but find all traditions and religions fascinating. It would be such a boring world if everyone were the same.

8 x 10 mixed media paper, Pigma pen 005

Sort:  

I grew up in a pretty strict Christian household, spent way too long believing all other faiths were "demonic", oy, haha! It was unbelievably freeing when I stepped away from that paradigm, I love learning about all kinds of religions and mythology now :)

I can see a lot of shared values within most religions now. The pagan religions are fascinating and full of teaching stories on how to live a good life. There are so many symbols to use in my paintings, too😆 Joseph Campbell has many books on this, like The Hero With a Thousand Faces.

Always find the best sketch from your end and welcome back once again.

Thank you, and you are still creating! You are amazing 😍