The Norns

in #art4 years ago

I’m working on a large piece that’s taking the summer to finish!

At the center of the Norse cosmos stands the great tree Yggdrasil. Yggdrasil’s upper branches cradle Asgard, the home and fortress of the Aesir gods and goddesses, of whom Odin is the chief.

Three wise women known as the Norns are the protectors and guardians of Yggdrasil. The three Norns weave on a loom which represents time itself. They are portrayed as Urd (past), Verdandi (present), and Skuld (future).

Every morning, from the leaves of Yggdrasil, there is a sweet glimmering dew which fills the valley; this dew is our memory of yesterday. Before the sun evaporates the dew, Urd collects this memory-water and pours it into her well: the Well of Memory. The dew water is named Aurr. In the center of Urd’s well there are two sacred swans, which form a heart shape with their long necks when facing each other, creating the fertility symbol of the god Frey (the god of love and fertility). Love arises from this holy well.If the past is discarded, memories forgotten, the roots will dry up. (Ancient Origins.com)

Stanza 111 of Hávamál
Benjamin Thorpe translates the stanza as:

Time 'tis to discourse from the preacher's chair.
By the well of Urd I silent sat,
I saw and meditated, I listened to men's words. (wiki)

img_0.954104823173043.jpg

🌲 27 inches x 30, coldpress 300lb cotton paper, watercolor, and gouache 🌳

img_6515.jpeg!

Sort:  

my dear Hellohow good see you here

I am happy to be back! Nice to see you ❤️

Welcome to Hive. I hope everything is good with you

We are all healthy and enjoying our home. My Granddaughter (who is 11 years old) is here and I’m teaching her to cook. We made pumpkin custard and whipped cream. The pumpkin came from my garden. I hope everything is going well for you and yours.

I'm glad you're fine. And nothing better than spending time with the family ... We are quite well sometimes everything is chaos in this country but we do the best we can. Yesterday we were more than 15 hours without light but hey ...

We are ready for chaos too, cities are burning. Here in Oklahoma is quite and calm (for now). California lost power for millions because of heat and it’s power grid hasn’t been maintained. You all are used to it, most Americans are getting an introduction to incompetence and corrupt government and fragile grids.

It's really amazing how people get used to living like this. I really hope that everything improves with this pandemic and ends soon, because the world seems to be so bad

HIVE In Vertical Energy @barge.jpeg

My Beastie 😍❤️❤️❤️

But the way like always your work is so good👏

Thank you 🙏

Welcome back

I finally got over my steemit resentments and powering down my steemit account (I’m done with It!). I checked out hive and all my favorite people are here. I’m feeling excited about blogging again ❤️

Happy for you enjoy your trip on hive ♥️

@tipu curate

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.ancient-origins.net/myths-legends-europe/norse-legend-world-tree-yggdrasil-002680

I cited the quotes, still annoying as hell @cheetah 😂😂😂

It is amazing how you had made such a marvelous work of art @reddust :D
I liked the story behind it and the detail of the three characters depicted on it too. :)

I’m having a hard time finishing this piece because our gardens and harvest are taking away all my attention. You know I love details . It’s great to see you are still fighting to stay active and productive my friend🙏❤️

Welcome back and welcome to HIVE.

There was lots of drama.

I see you are onto a very ambitious project as it seems you are want to do.

I really like all the colored stones on the well. They all sparkle nicely.
I want to say, what tedious work, but they are probably really easy in water color.
But then, in acrylic... nah, its just tedious

I like the snake slithering in the background.

I love your critiques and yes this type of artwork is mind numbingly tedious, I am crazy 🤪

Well come back @redust, after a long break finally you have appeared in hive blockchain, i missed your art and how you progressing and final touch. One of the most important this is that, you join at nftshowroom with your art. You may find some good people at their with all relating art, buyer, seller.... Hope all of your are good and safe in the pandemic situation. Good luck!

Thank you my friend, I’ll check it out ❤️🙏