Work In Progress

in #art4 years ago (edited)

The Norns, Weavers of the God’s and Humanity’s Fate

Norse Mythology

Today I’m adding detail to the Yggdrasil tree mid trunk, gods and human realms, the roots, and the well of Urd. I am going to start adding form to the top part of the tree and the 3 Norns clothing and jewelry this weekend. This is the 4th layer of color and detail. The last layer will be outlining everything, which is a lot of fun. The middle part of the trees roots still need a lot of work including the lower realms of the earth plain.

It’s really difficult for me to write coherently after painting

The three Norns still need to be fleshed out and detailed too (no fun at all!)

I know that an ash-tree stands called Yggdrasil,
a high tree, soaked with shining loam;
from there comes the dews which fall in the valley,
ever green, it stands over the well of fate.
(Seeress’s Prophecy)

img_6901.jpg

🌲 27 inches x 30, coldpress 300lb cotton paper, watercolor, and gouache 🌳

Stanza 111 of Hávamál
Benjamin Thorpe translates the stanza as:

Time 'tis to discourse from the preacher's chair.
By the well of Urd I silent sat,
I saw and meditated, I listened to men's words.

some_textA link to My Blog

Sort:  

The theme is bright with your concept, colour indeed and looks like 3D version. Very impressive work.

It's getting there, worked on the piece all day!

@reddust,
Reminds me old days at STEEM. Amazing work Sis! By the way I see you got 13K HP, if you have spare Hive Power (HP), please delegate to @hiveupme delegation / curation bot. You might get 90% to 95% curation revenue back (rewarding starts after 7 days from delegation) in VAULT token form. This project is totally developed by myself. I started my career top of HIVE as a dapp developer.
Would like to see the final version of the artwork.

Cheers~

Miss you bother and I will check out your curation bot. Anything to help an old friend!

@reddust,
Thank you Red, and hope you are doing well. Stay safe & stay healthy!

Triple Gems Bless You~

Perfect art. You made a lot of effort 👏

Thank you ☺️The need to do justice the the old ways is very important to me. I grew up reading Greek mythology and Grimm’s Fairy tales 🐉 🧚‍♀️ 🧜🏻‍♀️🧙‍♂️🤴🏻🧝🏻‍♂️🧙‍♀️

What beautiful and delicate work! you're very talented.

Thank you kindly, working with the Norns (fate) is not for the faint of heart 😆

the art is too unique. it is must to confess that the artist has a deep potentiality

Thank you 🙏