🎨 "The Queen of Hearts" - Graphite pencil, watercolor and oil on reverse side of glass

in #art7 years ago (edited)

One of the collectors of my art, is also a passionate collector of playing cards. He had once purchased a painting of a king and he told me, that the poor guy is a little lonely without a queen. We talked about it for a while and finally it was clear, that the lonely king really should get some company by a "Queen of hearts"...

k0.jpg


For me it was clear, that I was not only going to include the heart as a symbol of love, but also to add the other "colors" of what we call a French Deck, in reference to the client's playing card collection... can you find these elements?

k-1.jpg

"Queen of Hearts", hinterglas painting, roughly 12"x16"



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems




appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


pfeil-1-200x88.jpg

View all my pictures I posted here on steemit!
Viewer discretion advised, nsfw pictures visible without warning!



All photos/scans by me of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig_2013-1-Klein.jpg



Please support Art For a Little Brave Heart

aflbh.jpg

Sort:  

Love this! (As usual haha) I collect deck of cards- tarot but mostly oracles. Such powerful imagery always!

Thank you. Yes, there are some really impressive decks out there. I have some 30 Tarot decks, some of them done by artist colleagues.

Wonderful art "The Queen of Hearts"!
If you give me a permission than i will download this painting. can i?

Sure you can download it. Most people wouldn't even ask. Only thing I request is that you respect my copyright :-)

Thanks for your permission.Yes, many people download it without permission. But that's not right. I know how much work is needed to create something. So I think it is necessary to get permission from the person doing the job.

You are very welcome. Downloading an artwork I post is not a problem. The question is what you do with it. I don't mind if you download if for yourself, as long as the copyright isn't violated, like posting or selling it under a different name..

Reminds me of something out of Alice in Wonderland - a slightly more illustrative style for you Reinhard -
quality outstanding as usual : )

Haha.. funny. I've actually been called Alice's brother in wonderland once. Thank you as always for your compliment :-)

Selling the water yet?

This is really cool. The messed up proportions of the bodies remind me a lot of Larry Griffis's sculptures. Do a search for Griffis Sculpture Park and look at the pictures of the sculptures. "Flatman" is one that was recently placed publicly near Töad Meädow. For some reason, this drawing reminds me a lot of that style. Anyways, good work; keep it up!

Thanks a lot for liking this piece and for the link. Very interesting!