Steem-Punk Pendant - Artexplosion Entry 'Time'

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers!

I happened to come across this contest post by @juliakponsford https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-31-theme-time-25-steem-in-prizes As luck would have it I was just halfway through a new pendant that fits the subject of 'TIME' perfectly so this competition motivated me to get it finished.

So here is my entry for the competition. If you've followed my last couple of posts you'll know I have acquired a rather large pile of mostly broken watch mechanisms. I'm working on several designs at the moment but here's the latest one.

Annoyingly I forgot to take progress shots of this piece so there's a jump from beginning to end.
Here are some sketches I did to work out the rough shape. I tend to go off in different directions from my designs but it's always useful to have a bit of an idea before I start.

I started with a really basic frame. This was not actually used in the end, I made another one that worked better but you get the idea.

Then I started to fill it out before getting the watch mechanism to behave itself and sit right across the curve. (This took quite a while!!)
One thing I am trying to practice at the moment is the almost impossible looking setting. I've seen it done by other wire wrappers and the effect is great. The idea is to be able to hold the stone, or in this case, a watch mechanism, seemingly with little to no proper anchor points. This is an old piece that shows a relatively good example of what I mean. As you can see the piece of quartz isn't actually wrapped, it's kind of wedged very securely amongst the wire.


I'm starting to think it's almost done now, there's a few small gaps to fill and small mistakes to hide


Finished!

And here are some detail shots of the final piece.




This piece is for sale, I haven't put it up on Etsy yet but I'll let it go for £55 or Steem equivalent.

If you're interested in any of my other pieces I have some of them up for sale on my Etsy shop here: https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/tuskandclaw
Alternatively, I'm more than happy to accept Steem or SBD equivalent as payment to keep everything in the world of Crypto. There are more available than the ones on Etsy so get in touch if you can't see the one you want, I may still have it!
If you don't have the money for that there's only a couple of days left on my free Jewellery giveaway. Click here for a chance to win for free! https://steemit.com/art/@robali123/free-jewellery-giveaway
Sort:  

You got a 33.33% upvote and resteem from @singing.beauty courtesy of @robali123. Thank you for using the @singing.beauty UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @singing.beauty by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is over 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

I do enjoy your stuff, @robali123. The sense of movement and grace amidst an industrial, mechanical, complexity is very appealing. Just like it a lot.

Thank you, I've always loved mixing the two. biomechanical Giger style!

You got a 8.33% upvote from @whalebuilder courtesy of @robali123. Join @whalebuilder family at our Discord Channel. Don't let your precious stake(SP) go stale...Make it do more so you have to do less. Deligate it to @whalebuilder by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links: 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | custom amount.

Release the Kraken! You got a 3.44% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @robali123!

Wow, this is another really nice piece. The curved wire against the angles of the movement is a beautiful contrast!

You got a 19.84% upvote from @steembidbot courtesy of @robali123!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

nice post 😍

nice jewerry

very nice! great entry!

thankyou! fingers crossed i win!

Wow very cool jewelry thanks for joining!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This is really cool. We don't see a lot of physical art in Art Explosion. Your craftsmanship is beautiful. Love how intricate the details are. It also looks a bit like a treble clef. Awesome job on this!

kind words,thank you! I've just discovered the start of a new group on here of jewellers so once the discord chat is up and running i'll be sure to link the art explosion page to everyone for future competitions.