The result of unplanned creativity!

in #art6 years ago

Bio-Mech style Amber & Sterling Pendant

So making this piece was a random bout of creativity, no sketches, just a fresh delivery of wire and some older pieces of Amber i've had hidden away in a box for years.
It makes me sad when I have beautiful stones that no one gets to see so I was extra pleased when this sold just a few days after putting it up online.


Another reason I was chuffed with this sale is the buyer happens to be the mother-in-law to a guy I have recently started buying stones from based in Scotland. I believe it's a family run business so i'm really honoured she's picked some of my work to give to the wife of a stone expert and jeweller, fingers crossed she likes it eh!


Silver and Amber are just one of those magical combinations that look perfect together


Behind The Scenes

I took a few shots along the way.

Triple stones!

Can be daunting, this was quite frustrating trying to get them all secure and in the right position.


Finished and polished up!


I was really pleased with how this piece turned out. The only bit I'm a little disappointed with is the Quartz as it's mostly covered up! This is a good example of why doing some sketches beforehand can be helpful.


More Silverwork Here!



Sort:  

Truly amazing that you did that without any sketch for scale or guidance. That lady was impressed I'm sure, I don't know how she couldn't be.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 197 (7/16/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

You are one talented and productive guy, Rob. I mostly improvise, since my sketching skills are limited and I am always impatient to start. Which means when I have a failure, its truly spectacular.

Your work is beautiful. It’s hard to believe that you made that pendant freestyle. Amazing.

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

unplanned is often the best! I love amber, now we are living in "Amber Region", great work!!!

awesome! id love to be able to go hunt for it myself. sadly in a city so no chance of that here!

Gorgeous piece. I'm going to share this with a designer I'm trying to get to steemit. Don't be surprised if she contacts you...

Thanks for a wonderful look at the whole process. I really do appreciate it.

oh great! do you mean to persuade her into joining steemit? your very welcome, the support on here has really spurred me on to keep creating regularly

Sometimes, random creativity is the best kind!

Quick question: How much STEEM would you charge for 5 unique pieces?

Hello @thesteemhouse
that would be a bit difficult to price really. it may be easier to work the other way round, if you had a budget and wanted 5 i could show you some designs that would be possible.
As an idea, this piece sold for £140 so current price 105 STEEM. A relatively simple design of 5 items would probably be in the region of £50 each so about 190 steem. im on discord @robali123 if you want to chat a bit more about it. sorry to be so vague its a difficult one to price custom jewellery without knowing your needs.

Completely understand. I'll indeed be in touch soon

Thank you, robali123. Upvoted and resteemed!

@ArtTurtle is an upvote bot run by @Artopium dedicated to upvoting your art, music, fashion, video and books. Find out how you can get an upvote for every creative post you make by visitng @ArtTurtle and reading the latest report.

Very beautiful!

Great. Very nice .

I agree siler and Amber go together well especially in such a beautiful piece

The silver with the beautiful amber looks lovely.

Wow what a talent and productivity. keep it up..

wow nice blog sir..