Environment Design - Box of Mystery - ART/FANTASY ART/DESIGN

in #art4 years ago

Value_Comp_Designs.jpg

Hello everyone! I wanted to share with you my latest design work for am environment art competition titled 'Box of Mystery'

There are so many possible directions we can take for this Box of Mystery challenge. I have decided to design two scenes on an island which was once home to giants, set at the time of Atlantis.

My initial sketches:

Giants_Coastway.jpg

A giants head as a cliff face on the beach.

Cliffs_of_Celestials.jpg

The original women of the island, carved out of the cliff faces, inspired by the West Cost of Ireland.

Giants_Temple_Entrance.jpg

My first sketch for a temple dedicated to the original giants of the island.

I have always been fascinated by the story of Atlantis, and I want to begin illustrating some scenes of my own inspired by it. This island I am going to create two scenes for I have titled 'Isle of Lofty Clouds'. This island was once home to a race of benevolent giants, later inhabited by humans who escaped the Atlantian empire and began building and creating on the Isle of Lofty Clouds in peace and in harmony with nature.

I am using Ireland, Scotland and Iceland as my main sources of reference for the island.

I have called my island 'Isle of Lofty Clouds'

Here are the reference boards I have created for the project:

Isle of Lofty Clouds - Visual Development Moodboard-small.jpg

Alredy exisiting visual development art for inspiration.

Isle_of_Lofty_Clouds_-_Mood_Board_SMALL.jpg

Atlantis themed reference.

Isle_of_Lofty_Clouds_3_-_Reference_Mood_Board_SMALL.jpg

Ireland, Scotland & Iceland photography reference mood board.

Ideas for the scenes include Giant Temples, Architecture reaching up to the sky with flowing water, and/or also a tomb inside a cave, and portals either on, or just off the island that lead to other points in the Atlantean empire, or off world.

My developed designs:

Concept_Mood_Board_-_Page_1_-_With_Text_-_robbieallenartist.jpg

Concept_Mood_Board_-_Page_2_-_With_Text_-_robbieallenartist.jpg

This is my page of value comp designs, exploring various compositions, lighting and mood! I might add one or two more to these.

Please do let me know if you like any, or if one stands out in particular. For the designs on the left, I have created a front view of the building designs which I will upload in my next post! It was my first time creating a design for architecture.

I then went on to develop a few of these sketches further, painting in black and white 'value comps' to see which two I like the most to take further, whilst exploring various lighting options.

I have to design and paint two scenes and all the elements inside, taking it all to a professional finish!

Value_Comp_Designs.jpg

I will share more of my progress over the coming days.

Thank you for reading and checking out my work.

Have a great week ahead,

Robbie

Sort:  

All these thumbnail sketchies and mood boards and visual development boards further prove why I will never be able to work in industry XD

The thumbnails image was a good one to end with, I really like the centre one with the tower and lower left one with the moody building among the trees.

@ryivhnn why do you think that? Is there something in particular that puts you off from trying?

Thank you! I did like the center one too, but I didn't want to do a close to symmetrical painting for this project, as I did it in my previous Samurai Castle one.

I did start trying (started putting together a portfolio but stopped. It was mostly the hours, I knew a few people that worked in games (where I was originally headed like everyone else) and figured animation and vfx (where I decided to go instead) wouldn't be that different and didn't think it would be fair on the kids (they were pretty little at the time) and also I wanted time to do my own thing.

Also this kind of development process seems to be necessary to show people and I kind of have to draw how whatever I'm working on wants to be drawn or it just doesn't work no matter what I do XD