The Grand Pumpkin Spirit (buy w bitcoin in the store)

in #art4 years ago

A Journey Begins...

[the story of how a spirit came to exist on canvas]

My first large canvas, 30 x 40."

Pouring the paint after the babies are in bed... After watching "Here Comes the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown" umpteen million bazillion times... I always wondered... what did the "Spirit of the Great Pumpkin" look like..?


20191019_181617.jpg

Alone in my front room, make-shift studio... I discern the colors of Fall. A good base makes a good story, I tell myself. And then it happened... after the millionth time:

He comes from another dimension, with a sack full of toys slung on his back. The sincere girls and boys await him in the pumpkin patch and boy is Linus in for a surprise! This time it’s NOT Snoopy! Complete with pipe, this holiday spirit is best in low light. Just like the cartoon, purple and brown dominate the sky colors, as the pumpkin patch is waited in at night. A splash of glitter represents the magic of child-like wonder. Are you as surprised as me to see the Grand Pumpkin Spirit here tonight? Before now we weren’t sure if he existed – now we can be sure he does!! After watching Charlie Brown over and over again with my Autistic son, I was curious about what the spirit might look like – so I started in with the paint. Soon, it took over the page and I was left with the nighttime impression of the specter. What joy! At last! He is here. Now all the good girls and boys can have Halloween toys. And now Linus can’t be crying wolf. It must be true! What a sincere pumpkin patch…

20191019_190334.jpg

But it is missing something... it doesn't feel complete yet. What is it? Aha! It's Snoopy of course! He is always around, in fact, he is the mischievous beagle behind it all! What will Linus do?

20191019_194024.jpg

I figure that bottom right square is pretty open. But then I decide it's because it leaves room for the viewer's eye to settle on a point of view. As the onlooker, I imagine myself as Linus... finally witnessing the Great Pumpkin - the peak of his existence...! :-O What a feeling that must be!!

20191019_232253.jpg

And then to finalize it with some sealant. Find it for sale AND framed - here in the Robyn Eggs Art shop!.

Buy NOW with bitcoin! :-O . . . "And now you know...the rest of the story..."

Sort:  

Congratulations @robyneggs! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hey @robyneggs , long time! These posts are over a year old. Are you still around?

Your work is still awesome, Hey Robyneggs, I am baaaaack! I have missed you so much.

I have missed you too! Glad to see you are back and doing well! Cheers!

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment