Live coding performance in Oslo

in #art7 years ago (edited)

tumblr_inline_of3h6ifGte1td4hbj_500.gif

In October last year I participated in a live group performance at a culture house in Oslo called "Kunstnernes Hus". The performance, "Wave needs time to wave" included many different performers who played music, dressed in weird costumes, danced, smokes, and projected video.

I decided that I wanted to try live coding pixel shaders using shadertoy. Being my first time live coding I didn't really know if it would work out or not, but it actually went good. I coded for about 1 hour, while projecting my screen at the wall. I used the microphone on my laptop to capture the live music being played, so that I could write visuals that reacted to the sound.

Screenshot (381).png

The interesting thing about writing live code is that I kept changing the visuals until I was either bored or satisfied of that particular visual and created a new one from scratch. Then finally I made the shader show each effect after each other.

You can access the code and see a realtime version of the resulting visuals on shadertoy with different music than in the performance: https://www.shadertoy.com/view/4lKGWy

One of my colleagues filmed some parts of the performance, which I edited together to a small video (thats me with the red hat):