International Stuckist Invitational at Watkins Glen

in #art12 days ago

watkinspromo2.jpg
Promotional painting raffled off on opening night. Watkins Glen is known for its motorsports.

As you can see above, I am mostly a fool, which is fine with me, because I believe that in all things art, the greatest fools get things done. One must take chances. Unfortunately there’s rarely any money in chance. Fools organize 37 international painters’ paintings in a posh room in the Fingerlakes.

Putting the Stuckist Invitational together was steady work that went off without a hitch. I did a few promotional videos. Here is one:

And another:

And finally, opening night. What a trip!

I did not work without reward. I see it in the videos. You can see it too. How does one monetize the joy of man’s desiring? I spent a lot of money and received zero dollars in return. The painter fool spends it all to create a living.

Hey Stuckists, exhibit for Stuckists!

Sort:  

How does one monetize the joy of man’s desiring?

Is not joy a kind of payment? The currency of the future, methinks. Joy, and caring. Stuckism seems to me to be bringing that currency into present use.

You're so funny!

this is not the gallery, this is a gorge.

I'm very intrigued by this art form. It's non-self-censorship. Imagine a world in which we all spoke our true minds.

Yes, and contentment is the philosopher’s stone. But it’s nice to have some extra money for cookies. Art is an okay path until it becomes an obsession. Which I think it has for me. I find balance by hosting exhibitions for others. And I’ve made some lasting friends. However, all art, even Stuckism, breeds envy and oneupmanship. I’ll probably leave the art-making soon if I want to watch the river flow and not think of the 10,000 things. What I need going forward is a forest without ticks, good boots, books, food and attractive shelter. Fill the warm days with gardens and landscaping. And the cold ones reading, and occasional painting:)