OS X Catalina Encouraged me to stop Pirating Photoshop.

in #art4 years ago

updates sticker.png

I've been working on a few things:

  • I bought a new computer, so I can offer my Patrons exclusive NSFW Livestreaming, while working on 100+ page PSD files for graphic novels.

  • Catalina OS X apparently has some anti-piracy moves, and I discovered that Photoshop only costs $10 a month, and I've been using it exclusively to train as a digital painter, and build my art business for well over 5 years.

I thought about bootcamping windows 10, and continuing to pirate photoshop, but honestly, Windows 10 and Cracked Photoshop are functional -- but unreliable, and bothersome, and shitty.

OS X just fucking works. No driver issues, no crashing programs, no nothing.

  • I figured out how to upgrade RAM on the 2018 Mac Mini Models, so I bought one of these RAM and Tool Kits, which means I am now swimming in glorious 64 GB of RAM. Apple dramatically overcharges for this same resource when purchasing from their site. I'm not super experienced with hardware installation, but I pulled it off -- high fives all around.

.:.

Anyways, I had some interesting financial deliberations.

I wasn't sure whether or not to give my Kickstarter Backers access, or to make it Patron Exclusive.

I decided eventually that the financial investment in the hardware, and the functional streaming capacity was just worth it, and that by providing more value to Patrons, I'd be able to cover the costs associated with providing that value.

I've invested quite a bit into this project, and I'm looking forward to seeing the outcomes in terms of the gallery presentation, as well as the Patreon Conversion, and the post campaign book sales.

Once it's all passed, I'll do a total project breakdown here in a blog post, and then move onto a 12 week Art Camp intensive.

Sort:  

I think the Exclusivity Offers ought to be unique but intertwined.

Patreon
Kickstarter
Gumroad PDFs
HIVE
ETH

There ought to be a strong argument for people to support my work on any of those platforms.

Designing a unique reason why -- suited to each platform, and consequentially deciding which platforms will not receive those benefits is a challenge.

If I could separate and manage and update accounts so that Kickstarter Backers and Patrons and Gumroad Contributors, and HIVE people and ETH people could all make contributions on their respective platforms, in their respective currencies, for NSFW Livestream access [for example], -- I might be interested in making that happen -- but the accounting would be a little bit bothersome, and then the bill collecting would just be murderous.

That really is the one thing that Patreon offers that the others simply don't.

If you're a Patron -- You're hooked for a contribution each month, untill you decide not to be.

No other platform offers that kind of consistency.

Ultimately, that's a valuable thing, so I need to encourage that.

.:.

Different platforms need to be managed differently, based on their strengths, and have unique value propositions based on those same strengths.

Congratulations @rootdraws! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!