Spooky Art - Mixed Media / Submission for Beautiful Monsters Comp!

in #art7 years ago

Who Said that a Little Competition Was a Bad Thing?

You can ask those around me...
it is all relative to my mood :)

Beautiful Monster Submission

Do you think I look monsterous here?

The Makings of a Monster

Truth be told, I made the beginnings of this a while back, when I was having a discussion with a student. He had said some bitter things, that are relatively common for the younger guys. I know I was like that when I was younger. Headstrong, brazen and full of this personal truth that I find trying now.

That being said, the guy I was talking to meant well. I am just not a proponent of hate. I don't stand by it. I am a firm believer in love being the law, and that we all have have a lot of growth that needs to be done so that we can retrain ourselves.

It is funny that we were discussing how even the average person can be a monster. It all depends on what you see as monstrous. But the original sketch started off with that in mind. The drawing has been transformed a number of times but this most recent one is perhaps my favorite. Beauty from pain is always positive.

Baby steps.

Monstrous Serendipity

In any case.

This piece was created from mixed media. It has never been on Steem before. I have used the base sketch as a base outline for things in digital art, but not in any way that it would be connected, recognized or considered recycled, I don't think. The actual stitching, the colors and the style was fully inspired by the Beautiful Monster contest.

I started with a sketch that I did that kind of looked like me. I then did a layer using a picture of me that I had ran through toolwiz photos and softened my own features of the photo image to make it look like it was less of a photo and more of a painted piece.

I then layered them, added color digitally, painted it with my fingers in filters and shades. I also moved the lines and began to create the stitching. I didn't count the layers, sadly. I wish I had been more attentive and aware of being in the moment.

What do you think?

I think there was at least 15 layers there but I could be wrong.

I have been using a combination of program apps to do this kind of art including Pixlr, ToolWiz Photos, and Google Edit.

Isn't it amazing what you can do with images these days?

In any case, I finished the piece with more color, more stitching. @Juliasponsford has a contest going on...

You can see it here...

It was just the right incentive to get it done and I won't lie, I am glad that I did. It makes me think of Halloween and oh the lovely things I could do with my dreadlocks!

Feedback is always appreciated!

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

I love it! I want to participate in this contest but haven't got anything done yet. Hopefully I can submit something :)

It was one that just came together. I have one more entry - trying to finish it up. It said you can have 2 entries.

I still haven't done mine...oh well maybe just not this time :(

I am struggling for the entry this week - SELF - I don't know if I will get it in in time. I always forget the day that it begins and ends.

Beautiful. Monsterous. And perfect for Halloween.

Thank you :) I kind of thought the same :)

Very cool it has a sort of alien/zombie kind of look to it! Thanks for taking the time to enter!

You are quite welcome :) This was fun. Thanks for the inspiration!

Wow I would love to see your process and all the layers that go into it.

I totally need to do a screen recording one of these days. Usually, I am doing them on the different phone apps. Toolwiz is my favorite, it is like mini photoshop. You can paint and manipulate with it easily. Ultimately, it is mainly take a sketch, do a couple strokes of paint, change the saturation and contrast levels, play with the hue, then mix it with with swirls, sometimes add another layer of the sketched image, draw something and then more lighting and filters till it looks like how i want it to. This one took a couple of hours. They don't have all of the programs that I like to use for that on the ipad though and I haven't found a program that is as extensive and free as th toolwiz one. I don't know how to do a screen capture, like a movie on the phone... so something I need to look into :) I have been thinking that I need to do a process post though. I am glad you liked this one. I was pleased with how it came out :)