You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preparing to Animate in Blender: Testing the Rain Rig

in #art3 years ago

Cut the newbies some slack, some of us learn in ways that are extremely awkward and nonsensical to people who learn in whatever's become the traditional way to learn something, in some cases it's lack of choice and in cases of people like me, works better for our brains XD

And it's generally easy to point them towards learning all that kind of stuff anyway on a per work basis :)

At first glance it looks like the Rigify rig, is it a different one?

Sort:  

Just echoing the observations of the older senior artists and our superiors. Besides, it's not just lack of knowledge of art fundaments that we're dealing with here. It's also about the deteriorating academic performance of our elementary and high school-age youth that resulted in lower intellectual and cognitive abilities. I'll stop sugar-coating it. The kids here are getting dumber, to the point that it has become a national crisis now.

About two-years ago there was a test of academic performance conducted on grade school kids here in S.E. Asia. The Philippines came out last in everything our youth were tested for. Poor reading comprehension, math skills, and critical thinking ability, and so on. I'm suprised that they can even get into college or university in spite of it.

And in our organization I'm the poor sod who has to deal with them. In fact I've been told by our bosses to stop being too lenient with them and exercise command responsibility. When the boss is pissed-off he likes to say "This is a job, not a friggin' picnic. Tell them to get those brains working.". The pandemic is taking its toll on everyone and tempers are always flaring. So it's best to stay out of their crosshairs.

I'm making a bunch of NFTs in my spare time, and if I'm lucky enough to make a huge sale that earns me enough to tide me over for a couple of years I'll quit my job and start working on my animated short stories. At least the headaches I will get with it are a natural part of it, and not something that was caused by having to deal with others' inadequacies. 😉

The kids here are getting dumber, to the point that it has become a national crisis now

This might be a common problem. We don't use the school system so everything is just observation and anecdotes, I do hear a lot along these lines. Over here it's complaints that a lot of the kids getting passed out barely have acceptable language and maths basics never mind anything else. As far as I can tell it seems that somehow everyone having the right to access education (which I agree with) somehow became conflated with everyone having the right to graduate with passing grades regardless of how they did (um?).

In our case here it's probably fostered or at the very least not helped by the participation award culture we have here, I don't know if that's a problem over there.

Good luck with the NFT sales, hope you make a few huge ones :D