4 Tips For Painting Tree Foliage

in #art4 years ago

In this video I show you4 tips for painting tree foliage. Landscape paintings always look good with some trees in the them and in this video I give you some tips for adding realistic trees to your paintings.

Inspiration for This Painting

This painting is inspired by a place near Queenstown, New Zealand called Tucker Beach. Tucker Beach is not a beach however but is an area of a flood plain by the Shotover River which is popular with tourists for jet boating.

This beautiful river valley is characterised by lots of European broadleaf trees including, poplars, willows and sycamores. It is a place I have painted outdoors in on many occasions.

Here is the painting featured in this video

Check out the written notes that accompany this video.

Follow Me on LBRY

You can watch all of my painting videos including this video on my LBRY channel, the brilliant alternative to YouTube.

If you would like to see more of my art, check out my website.

Sort:  

I love how your paintings look so neat! Mine always get muddy LOL I only use 1-2 brushes and too lazy to clean before mixing in another paint hahaha. What solvent did you use for the underpainting?

Thanks. The underpainting is 1 part burnt sienna, 1 part Liquin Original and 3 parts pure gum turpentine. I apply it as a thin wash and leave it to dry for a couple of days before I paint on it.

Thanks! I might try that one next time. I haven't tried mixing in liquin, I only tried Sansodor. Can't stand the smell of solvents lol