How to Paint TREES AND LIGHT

in #art4 years ago

In this video I show you how to paint trees and lighting effects using oil paints. This painting features willow trees growing in a New Zealand mountain valley where the evening sun is bathing the foliage in light and shining through the leaves of the tree canopies.

In the video I will explain the following:

  1. Composition
  2. Colours and brushes
  3. Blocking in the painting
  4. Adding detail
  5. Adding final details

The inspiration for this painting came from a location just a five minute drive from my art studio in Queenstown, New Zealand where I live. I happened to be driving through the valley one evening when I noticed the evening sun shining through the willow trees.

Given it was spring and there was fresh foliage on the trees, the different hues of greens where really vibrant. I pulled over at the side of the road and took some photos. The idea for a painting was born!

Check out the written notes that accompany this video. Please feel free to use the reference photos if you would like to have a go at painting this.

If you would like to see more of my art work check out my website.

Check out my painting tutorial videos by following me on YouTube and LBRY

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 15/20)

Thanks :)

You are very welcome! Beautiful work. 😀

The trees definitely look very tree-like XD

and you have to post into a community from the posting form, there should be a dropdown or something for it near the title

You really are spoilt for scenery to paint over there.