Learning to Animate Simply 2 - Portrait of @ivan.atman - Music - Art

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys,
I made another little piece of phone-art, this time in honour of these totally awesome people: Ava & @ivan.atman

project_1517525652774.gif

From my first musical posts on steemit, @ivan.atman has given me supportive and appreciative messages. He and his wonderful wife Ava (who is having a baby in the next couple of weeks!) make super cool music, and I feel really blessed to have made this connection.
This gif is made from a still taken from this video -ROCKING their song for the steemit openmic songwriters challenge
Screenshot_20180130-212044.png

In addition to lovely messages, Ivan gave me links to join music communities on Discord, and offered to collaborate, saying if I record the piano and vocal tracks for my song 'Sweet Farewell' then he could maybe add some strings.
What a legend! So I recorded the tracks and sent them over. I know he is super busy and there is absolutely no pressure to complete this project, but what really mattered to me was the push. It made me get organised, set up equipment, put time aside and actually record something properly. It showed me that I could actually bother to take my art just a tiny bit more seriously and it feels amazing to hear myself recorded on a good microphone (thanks for the microphone loan @ewanduffus and help with setup @basilmarples)

I have been trying out some very basic animation phone apps, which allow you to upload a picture, trace round it and colour in using dropper and fill tools (I like to mostly dropper the original colours, and adjust them a bit in places). The main thing in keeping the process fun is just to get the lines 'near enough' and not worry too much about getting it all perfect.
My first gif animation post was in honour of @yusaymon
yusaymon.gif (this totally needs a mega drumbeat, but I haven't got round to it yet)

Its cool having little gifs and animations to play with. It makes having a phone like having a tiny art notebook to doodle in and play on. And now I have so many muses to choose from, because you are all so awesome.

Astral blessings to my steemit family.
xoxo

Sort:  

Awesome @sazzler thank you for this wicked mention, keep on doing your stuff, I'll be with you soon, finish your incredible song as soon as the time permits me 👍 😎

If you follow ,upvote ,comment and resteem me I will do same

Awesome!
Hey @sazzler this gives me an idea, I could add some harmonies if you'd like some on one / any of your songs? I like this idea of collaborating across Steemit!

Hey Alice! Yes! Next time you come visit, you'll have to sing with The Post-Beat Steemit Band!!! xoxo