20 SBD in Prizes: Portrait Contest

in #art6 years ago (edited)

portraitcontest.jpg

A portrait is a painting, drawing, or engraving of a person that usually only depicts the head and shoulders. I'm excluding photography from this definition because this is not a photo contest.

I want you to draw, paint, sculpt, or use any other kind of physical/digital media to create a portrait, and I'm offering 20 SBD worth of prizes. Please read the rules below before submitting.


Today marks the beginning of a contest where I ask you, the artists of Steemit, to create an original portrait for a chance to win Steem Backed Dollars.

Prizes

  • First Prize: 5 SBD (1 winner)
  • Second Prize: 3 SBD (2 winners)
  • Third Prize: 2 SBD (2 winners)
  • Fourth Prize: 1 SBD (5 winners)

In total, I'll be giving away 20 SBD to the winners of this contest. The prize money will be transferred after the winners have been announced. Winners will be determined by me according to my own subjective criteria.

What must I do to win?

Make a piece of art that depicts your own face or the face of a friend, family member, celbrity or even a totally random person. Drawings, paintings, digital paintings and sculptures are all perfectly acceptable. I want this contest to be open to all artists. I don't want to restrict you to one medium.

But no photos. I'm don't mean to disparage the skill involved in taking a great photo portrait, but there's a world of difference between doing that and drawing a piece of art from scratch.

Your portrait may have a surreal or abstract bent to it, but don't take that concept too far. The purpose of this contest is to depict the likeness of a person. The further you get away from that, the less likely you are to win.

You may submit as many pieces as you want, but you will only be eligible for one prize. For example, if you submit two pieces of art, you cannot win both first and fourth prizes. Only one of your pieces will be selected to win a prize. So submitting more art may increase your chances of winning a prize, but it's impossible to win extra prizes.

Rules for Submission

  • The art must be your original work. I'll be doing reverse Google searches to check.
  • The art should be a piece created for this contest. Please don't submit old works for an easy chance to win prizes. This is harder for me to check on, so please be honest.
  • You must Upvote and Resteem this post to be eligible to win.
  • You must submit your creation as a post on your Steemit blog
  • You must show me your piece by leaving a comment on this post, linking me to your artwork.
  • Submissions are closed once this post pays out in 7 days.

Here are some examples to give your imagination a little push

1

Phil
Chuck Close

2

Big Self Portrait
Chuck Close

3

Mona Lisa
Leonardo Da Vinci

PortraitMeanMommy33.jpg

@meanmommy33
I drew this one!

Good luck! The contest closes in 7 days.

~Seth

EDIT: I screwed up on the rules. I copied and pasted the rules from my last contest and there were a couple of holdovers from the "Surreal Art Contest" that shouldn't have been present. Sorry for the confusion. The rules have now been amended.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

title.png

Hey, this is what I came up with:) I still had the surrealism in mind and characterized her, but I had fun nevertheless and wanted to post this when it‘s done:)
https://steemit.com/3d/@jellenmark/guess-the-character-3d-stylization-of

As much as I would love you include your wonderful entry in the contest, you came in a few days past the deadline.

Hello, this is my entry and thanks for the opportunity, greetings!.

https://steemit.com/surrealart/@gabrielkoi23/my-entry-to-20-sbd-en-premios-concurso-de-retratos

8.jpg

7.jpg

If you like to see more, you know where you are.

Facebook: GabrielKoi Art
Instagram: GabrielKoi_Art
Twitter: @Gabriel23_Art
Deviantart: GabrielKoi Art

Trying to pander to my well documented love for Lord of the Rings are you? Well it's working! Great job :)

Oh but i didn't know!! Im a fan as well T.T
Planning to draw the others if I have time :)
Thank you!

Fantastic concept, very happy to be a part of it, here are my submissions.

dreamman.jpg

alibo.jpg

There are more inside the post if you like.

Here is the link for the post:

https://steemit.com/surrealart/@artbyadida/portrait-contest-surrealart-a-submission-for-sethlinson-s-portrait-contest

Bless :)

I love your artworks. I saw one of these artworks on instagram. These were posted a while back. Good luck on the contest.

Hi brother! I bring my entry with this, I really hope you like my work (portrait / drawing) I really hope to participate in the contest. And if you would like the design and drawing process, this is in my post (attached below) which is available if you want to see it! Thank you very much, greetings

conejo 1.png

https://steemit.com/art/@ronaldfung/once-upon-a-time-cap-1

@sethlinson thanks for this amazing contest
here's my entry:
"Perfectly Imperfect"

Beautiful-Eye.jpg

Although I am not an artist as such, I decided to make a detailed portrait of my sister-in-law, whom I greatly appreciate ... and I dedicate this contest. Thanks @sethlinson for the idea and the opportunity to participate.

My entry:

https://steemit.com/untalented/@kts/2wcm5z-portrait-of-my-sister-in-law-contest

Wow, fast work! Make sure you resteemed this post in order to be eligible to win :)

Done! Thanks for watching <3

Hello @sethlinson here's my submission, thanks for this awesome opportunity, I'm grateful.
https://steemit.com/artzone/@joyart/my-entry-to-sethlinson-s-art-contest
image

This looks like a great contest!

Hi @sethlinson, this is my potrait vector art design. Hope you like my work :)

See this post for detailed explanation:
https://steemit.com/surrealart/@naufal/portrait-contest-vector-art-digital-painting-59e7bca3f278d

Vector Zahra output.png

@bavi !!!! You may have a look at that !
@bavi, It's time to find your community of talented artists :-) There are many many many in the english speaking community !

@bavi, je ne sais pas si tu causes anglais, mais regarde, il y a des concours de dessins. II y en a plein d'artistes talentueux comme toi!
Commence en anglais... :D

Merci.
Une œuvre crée pour ce concours ... :/
Je vais prendre le temps de tenter une participation ... 7 jours, ça va être chaud.
Déjà cette semaine c'est mort ...
Allez, on y croit. ^^

@bavi Mmmh je pense que le concours fini bientôt... Faut relire les conditions. Mais pour te montrer que ça existe !

Here's my entry for the contest. I almost forgot to comment it here. Haha
Here's a portrait of my cousin I drew using charcoal.

PicsArt_05-31-06.36.38.jpg

https://steemit.com/surrealart/@aboutart/jolla-or-charcoal-drawing-or-entry-on-sethlinson-s-portrait-drawing-contest

mi entrada tambien me pueden seguir en mi blog gracias por la oportunidad . 👍

https://steemit.com/arte/@rogers.mento/concurso-de-retratoIMG_20180213_195010_492.jpg

¡Hola Hola! @sethlinson I participate with my little drawing of a portrait. I'm not an expert but here I go! I hope you like my style! ñ-ñ
https://steemit.com/surrealart/@dusoleil/portrait-contest

This one actually came just a little past the deadline. But fortunately your first entry was on time! Nevertheless, this is great :)

oh, I forgot about the deadline

Hello! Here is my entry to the contest :)

final-3.jpg

Hello @sethlinson nice contest! this is my entry:

IMG_20180601_134919_305.jpg

Kat Von D

Im on it!
So we'll just draw out of memory? And a little more creativity. Hmmmmm

Thanks itll be interesting to join :)

You don't have to draw from memory. It could be based on a photo, or even using a live model. Whatever you want! Good luck :)

Alright got it! Thank you. Ill start reaaaal soon :)

Hi! This is my submission for the contest, it’s a cartoon of my homegirl Pareidolia.
3F23C659-9134-4780-8969-78FDBCB5BD76.jpeg

https://steemit.com/art/@danzplanz/portrait-of-pareidolia

Here’s another of my man Chuck, for good luck!
CF4163AD-BAA9-403C-B864-EB415B8C766A.jpeg

What a good match. I wish I had this art too and I could use this contest. I wish all those involved in the contest a great success.

Hi dear steemians, Here is my tribute to Ned Scott as a drawing for the portrait contest by @sethlinson.

Hope you like it.

NedScotts.jpg
https://steemit.com/artzone/@berniesecretary/sethlinson-portrait-contest-tribute-to-ned-scott

This is great! It's always a treat to have your art in my contests.

I'll wait to upvote until some of my voting power has replenished.

Thanks a lot, man. I'm glad to read that. :D

Most of my SP is delegated now, so my vote is only worth about 1 cent, but still... 1 is better than 0!

Haha, that's right, thanks, bro!

Oooooh good times and memories Seth !!!!!
June '17 - only a month after I joined! And how amazing it was!
Resteemed - we need people to participate !!!!

Thanks for the resteem :)

Anytime!
You're one of the very first people I followed a year ago when I joined Steemit - I might miss a lot, but I always check out your stuff eventually, and always admire your art! And of course cannot forget my amazing portrait !!! :D

There are 2 pages
Pages