Something For Scrawly #1

in #art5 years ago (edited)

I used to love drawing.

I wasn't the best at it, but it was something that I enjoyed.

Somewhere along the line (about 11 years ago?) I encountered some really horrible people who made me feel like dirt or that my artwork didn't meet their standards.

I stopped drawing.

These people were so bad that they plotted to, and succeeded in, destroying one of the best comic book stores in Adelaide in order to try to have an exclusivity on the market.

Fast forward to the end of 2018 when I encountered @scrawly here on Steemit. @scrawly is an artist who uses different mediums and creates some great work (please follow them). Anyway, they (not sure of gender here, but I assumed male) encouraged me to start drawing again at the beginning of 2019.

Fast forward to the end of March 2019, and I am working and I don't have a lot of time to draw anything. But, I had decided to try and draw at least something each lunch break. This isn't always possible but the intention has to be there first.

The artwork here isn't the best by a long shot as I am rusty. Nor do I consider this to be a "quality post". However this is me regaining control of my life again and doing what I wanted because I wanted to.
Also, scanners have a lot of trouble scanning in pencil. I will ink these when I get the chance.
.

A Cool Dude

Something for Scrawly 1.jpg

"A Pelican Soaring Over The Esplanade"

Something for Scrawly 2.jpg
What was once the grand Isis has been reduced to a 'Bin Chicken'

.
A Glass Of Coca Cola

Something for Scrawly 3.jpg

Once again, these are far from perfect and I am sure you can draw better than these examples.
In fact, I invite you to submit samples of your art in the comments below.

The morale of the story is, never ever let anyone stop you from doing something creative that you enjoy you just don't
have the lifespan to waste.

I am hoping to turn this into a series of smaller pieces over time.

Thank you @scrawly and the Steemit platform for allowing me to overcome my demons and start drawing again.

Sort:  

Heyyy you finally did it!!! :D :D :D

What an awesome post, I am so glad that you actually made good of your promise to yourself. It is sad that you encountered those nasty people 11 years ago, they must be really horrible to make you stopped drawing. Especially so since you love drawing.

But now you are drawing again! These are great start and I hope you will continue to create them when you can. The coke glass has some lovely detailing, I like it.

And I do consider this post to be quality post.

this is me regaining control of my life again and doing what I wanted because I wanted to.

Beautifully said. Beautiful post.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


201010-xl-towering-coconut-layer-cake.jpg

keep drawing 😃

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

This is the best place to start practising drawing again because there are so many talents people here to encourage you, as you mention @scrawly and I know one more person who really like to help newbies too, none other than @veryspider!!

Thank you for you your response. Yes this community is awesome and I hope my lesser quality efforts can inspire beginners to try.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup, good luck my friend!