My trip to Olumo rock( Tourist center)

in #art6 years ago

Olumo rock is located in Abeokuta, the capital of Ogun state. Abeokuta (meaning under the rock) owing to the presence of Olumo rock. Olumo is believe to have been extracted from a Yoruba word Oluwalomo(meaning God carve it). During the inter tribal war in 19th century, the rock serve as sanctuary to people of the then village, while the men fight at war fronts, the women and children hide behind the rock. It soon became a tourist site in year 1976.

Last December, I visit my cousin in Sango Ota, a town very close to Abeokuta, it strucks me as a good chance to visit the magnimous rock which stand at 137m above sea level.

On getting to the gate, I paid the entrance fee, I was then directed to the reception. The receptionists, a woman with very broad smile took some minutes to explained different services offered by the site. I told her I only want to have a view of the different parts of the rock and she called a young man in his early thirties, he came in as soon as she dropped the call. He was to be my guide.

First we entered a room which was directly beside the reception, there was the museum, it's a site to behold itself, there were different local crafts and arts works. Some looking very scary and some nice looking, would have bought some of the works but a bit expensive for a low income earner.
Pic-11-600x450.jpg

We make for the entrance, my guide then asked me if I would prefer the elevator or stairs, I quickly opted for the latter, we went towards the stairs immediately, the stairs were carefully carved on the rock, we started climbing, he told me not to be afraid as no one has ever fallen from the tree, I was astonished on hearing that and it laid any fears that must have occupied my mind, after some minutes on the stairs, lol and behold, different trees lying scattered on the rock, I was surprised, tree on a rock? I asked, he answered immediately that the place is called Panseke garden, he touched some of the trees one after the other telling me their names and uses, there were dongoyaro, odan tree and panseke tree(this one makes sound when beaten and the garden was named after it). He further stated that the trees in the garden were used for different herbs which cure variety of illness.220px-Tourists_demo.jpg

We climbed further up and we get to the most sacred place on the rock, as pointed out by my guide, it was Olumo Rock main shrine, there were women singing and dancing joyfully, also young boys sitting down who seems to be saying some incantation, I was told the women worship orisa igun ( god of longetivity) I was not moved when he said the leader of the women is over 130 years. Very close to the shrine is a very small hut, my guide only two persons are allowed at the shrine, the King of the city( Alake of Egbaland) and the Chief priest on a day in August when they worship the head of the gods.

Olumo-Rock-985x450.jpg

We continue climbing up again, he must have noticed some fear in me when he states no one has ever fallen from the rock, I looked at him unbelievably and he nodded stating again, never! We finally got to a hut, with grave infront of the hut, he explained, this use to be the main hideout during the said war, before i asked about the grave he said it is of the first and only tour guide of the site before his demise in 1956.
220px-An_entrance_of_the_cave_in_Olumo_Rock.jpg

We continue our journey, we move towards an edge and I can visibly see the aerial view of the beautiful city. From there he showed me the building of the first church in Nigeria located in the city, it was built in 1844, I also saw the Central mosque, Old Baptist Boys High School, where most prominent leaders in the state had schooled. Also, clearly visible from there is the popular Ogun river in the city.
olumo-rock.jpg

That comes to the end of journey, my guide finally annouced, as we climbed down from the rock, I felt fulfiled and satisfy, it was indeed a sight.