A mighty black rooster- original artwork - a step by step progress

in #art6 years ago

Dear Steemit Friends!

Today something more unusual from Shiny Forest. A black rooster, drawn at the request of my beloved one. It may land on T-shirt or a sweather I think, but I'm not sure what the original inspiration of the requestor was. Haha! Anyway, I thought I'd share this piece with you, in between some of my Shiny Forest postcards, even though it doesn't have the usual appeal specific to my creations presented here on Steemit.

10.jpg
Pen and ink on a paper, 29,7 x 42 cm

Now, I think this is one of the last pieces drawn by me on a stock paper. I've had enough of that folding, waving and other not so wonderful distortions of all sorts ;) It's all fine and dandy when I sketch my art with pencil or am in progress of stippling, but at the final stages the paper just starts to kick, bite and freak out in general. Stock paper was a great friend at the beginning of my 'back to art' journey, but now it's time to finally move on.

PROGRESS STEP BY STEP

A sketchy sketch at first. I've browsed the Internet for countless pics of roosters (as I have no chance of meeting one in life anytime soon), and out of this prolonged exposure came out a brand new and original roo' of my own,

1.jpg

Which was then redrawn by moi with a pen,

2.jpg

And afterwards treated to some initial lines and dots to give myself some basic directions. I also checked out how will my shading technique work on one of the tail feathers.

3.jpg

I was very careful and conservative with filling out the middle part of the bird. I didn't want to ruin it with some hastily chosen tactic, so I took my time and worked the outskirts of the drawing at first (which was also stressful on it own hah). You know, I was attacked by some angry rooster once when I was a very little kid, and I still have the scar on my leg from its vicious bite. I ran into the group of hens which occupied the road, because I was trying to get to a person standing and waiting for me at the other side of the road. The cock got mad I guess, and pecked me really hard while I was passing it. So this will be a lame joke, but basing on my bad experience I decided to proceed with caution. Heh.

5.jpg

As I said, the progress was gradual. I especially enjoyed filling out the tail fathers, it was a very pleasant task for some reason, probably because I knew exactly how I wanted these feathers to be done and could go totally relaxed about them.

7.jpg

The rooster turned out to be more greyish than an expressive contrasting black and white piece, I'd say. This whole shades of grey situation actually begs for some puns, not to mention a main theme of the graphic, obviously, but I shall abstain from any such naughty overtones hihi. I was actually watching Archer for past few days, and as he would say, you know... PHRASING! Well, I certainly hope there will be more seasons of this show to come :)

8.jpg

Oh yeah, the legs. It's not included in here, but I've created myself a delicate pencil sketch at first, to outline a wrinkly texture of legs' skin, and I tried to build a semi-realistic effect with pen afterwards.

9.jpg

And soon I was finished. I left the eye white for now, but I may revisit this art in the future, I think. I'll have you updated, should anything like that take place hah.

10.jpg

Do you like my art, guys? Here's another drawing of a bird I made some time ago, please check it out if you're interested: a cute little wren, which looks a little bit angry, but is actually a quite sweet tiny fellow.

A classic step-by-step GIF:

tutorialik 9.gif

I'm very happy you checked out my post :) I really hoped you enjoyed it, and as always...
footer 1.jpg

Love,

Klaudia

Sort:  

The depth and texture that you manage to capture with just black and white is amazing! Great drawing!

Thank you @byn, this is a cool insight! :)

Lovely to see it come to life! The rooster is a strong image, the fact that it's so contrasty will work great on a t-shirt. The shading is top-notch here...almost too dark but maybe that's just me ^^

This is great! You are an amazing artist :D I love how with a pen you can create such a beautiful rooster (I'd love to know if you ever find out what was that requestor inspiration though haha)

Awesome job as always. I love the detail and the textures in this artwork. You have great skillz both in your creative drawing as well as traditional drawing. Keep it up! Please share the T-shirt when it gets printed ;)

Your drawing skills keep impressing me all the time. It is very challenging to draw black bird, animal or anything black and you did grate job with it.

@marinaart, it means a lot to hear it from you. You made me really happy :) Thank you dear :)

Amazing art you've got here. I enjoy the step by step explanation you gave. It can help anyone recreate his own. Thanks for feeding the blockchain with good contents haha!.

Thank you @dorth for your kind support! :) I'm very happy you like it!

I think every rooster in my vicinity is amazed and honoured :-D You created a very majestic animal and I love how you captured his movements. While looking at your drawing he seem to walk ahead....Love it

Damn, @shinyforest! That final product is amazing. Also, the GIF you make of the progress is really awesome. I am sure you receive lots of compliments on it all the time. :)

Great work!

That’s so cool. Love how you break it down

Oh my, so great to hear from you @intrepidphotos! I'm impressed by your fantastic performance here and inspired also! I'm very happy you like my art. All the best, Klaudia :)

Amazing work! I loved how you took through the journey of your creation! So much talent!

Wow, I'm very glad you like it @fitnessnerd :) thank you so much for your kind support! I'm amazed to see how great you've been here on Steemit! :) keeping my fingers crossed for you!

Have you tried bristol board? It might hold up better to lots of inking.

Fantastic advice, and yeah I'm going to buy myself today some different sized bristol paper :) thank you @minnowforlife :)

Amazing work and thank you for the step-by-step, it makes it even more incredible! I can totally see that blown up really really big and made into a decal for the wall... or yes I agree it would be cool on a tshirt too!

Cool, thank you @caitycat for your kind words! It's really sweet of you :) made me smile.

so rad! awesome step by step guide