Shiny Forest Ghost Sticker Series - Under the Mushroom

in #art6 years ago

Hello friends!

Today I have something new for you, meaning a new series with Shiny Forest Ghosts! Recently I've struggled very hard to post regularly on Steemit and MOST IMPORTANTLY STAY IN TOUCH WITH YOU, and I felt really passionate about finding a way to overcome this struggle :) I also had several new fantastic inspirations in my head that I really wanted to use, so here we are :)

I enjoy imagining forest ghosts in their natural habitat, but so far I've portrayed them almost always half-hidden, still, wary and observing only. I think they need more interaction!

Here's the finished piece:

7.jpg

Pen and ink on paper, 21x29,7 cm

THE INSPIRATION AND STORY BEHIND TODAY'S GHOST

This little one relaxes under the mushroom. It looks cute and chilled the f*ck out at the same time. Would be lovely to meet such lovely ghost while picking mushrooms, wouldn't it? :)

This illustration brings Tukoni to my mind. Tukoni is a a world full of sweet little forest creatures, created by Ukrainian artist Oksana Bula. I'm a huge fan of her unique artistic style and the richness of her animalarium. If you love this kind of heart-warming art, stories and tales I invite you to visit Tukoni's fanpage on Facebook and see Oksana's illustrations for yourself :)

But that's not all of my inspiration.

Recently I've watched several great anime shows which encouraged me to express myself in some new, playful ways. Mostly I mean The Fullmetal Alchemist (I saw it before The Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood), which is full of funny moments when main protagonists' appearances were comically distorted to exaggerate some of their emotions or reactions, and I absolutely loved this practice!

It made me ponder on some of my favourite Facebook stickers and Discord chat emoji. For example, I adore gudetama (do you know this hilarious egg?), Bana $ Nana, Fat Rabbit Farm and many, many more. All this thinking about the favourite aspects of those depictions made me want to do a collection of ghost emoji myself. I hope you will like my efforts!

I feel that my ghosts could've waited much, much longer for coming into life and appearing in so many of my artworks, if it wasn't for Steemit. Before Steemit there was only one artwork of mine with a Shiny Forest ghost in it. And to be honest, the ghost was often taken for a cat ( confusion which I gladly accepted, as my ghosts definitely have some feline traits in them, among others). Here's how this first linocut progenitor ghost looked like:

9.jpg

Original linocut with a ghost on a mug

Do you have similar experience with Steemit? Did it help you achieve some of your goals? I think that if I'll stay on this enjoyable course that Steemit has set for me, there might be even a chance for vlogging or creating digital art. Would be nice to create some of my ghosts digitally one day, especially after seeing some of the amazing digital creations of fellow Steemit artists! I know exactly how I would like such an artwork to look like. Just don't know how to get there yet :) Do you create digital art yourself?

STAGES OF ARTWORK

  • Sketchy sketch-sketch!

1.jpg

  • Redrawing with pen!

2.jpg

  • Initial shading (the technique called stippling) and textures!

4.jpg

  • Shading and texturing intensifies...

5.jpg

  • Ready piece :)

7.jpg

STEP BY STEP GIF

ghost 3.gif

I'm very happy you've checked out my post! I hope you enjoyed my Shiny Forest ghost :)

I'm very grateful for all the kindness, support and inspiration I've received so far here on Steemit! Thank you guys, and as always...

footer 1.jpg

Love,

Klaudia

Sort:  

I love your drawings. They always have a lot of thoughts behind. All my digital art projects are in my head and I hope to see them one day on the monitor :)

Thank you @marinaart, I can't wait to see your digital art! :) Speaking honestly I'm hoping for some good change on the market and better earnings here on Steemit to fund some of my plans, including the digital art ;)

:) steady earnings here is not impossible but depends on connections that people build over the years. Better upvote power will get you more connections and only way to get more upvote power is to win contest or get lucky with the your own post. System could not support all talented people on daily basis because it have limited dollar amount to distribute per day ans per year. These are my observation :) no more and no less :) Just remember that some people been hired (drafted) by Steemit to attract new users . Crypto will recover soon< but not as fast as we all wanted :)

I am happy you found steemit, because I love your little forest ghost :-D I can see so much potential in this creature, but also in your general style of sketching (I see books and animations and a big mural 😍)
I am curious which creatures you will discover deeper inside your magical forests.

That's one chilly ghost :)
I especially like the tea cup!

Thank you dear! :)

What a pretty cool ghost shiny! Hahahh seems like he doesn't have my problem. ^^

Thank you @dawnsheree, yeah, he doesn't have mine, too ;)))

That ghost is super cool and super chill * ___ * Love his body language <3

.... and i wants that mug, it's so awesome * ___ *

Another gorgeous post, Klaudia <3

upvotes

Thank you @veryspider, you're always soo sweet and supportive, I really can feel that!
You're doing fantastic job on Steem Artists, thank you!

Beautiful! I love how there was a casual 'oh linocut ghosts on mug'. Mushrooms are my favourite thing to eat and draw. Great job on this one!

Thank you @manouche :D I especially love all the arboreal mushrooms, many of them have such beautiful intricate shapes! And I really like to incorporate them in my pictures :)
All the best,
Klaudia

I love that coffee cup! And yes, I'd love it if you posted more! I hope you're well! :D

Thank you @caleblailmusik, I'm quite well, I have a really hard-working month right now, soon I'll be able to blog more! How about you?
Love,
Klaudia

What kind of work do you do (besides art, of course)?
I'm not sure you want to hear how I am :/

This is awesome @shinyforest, once I get a decent income I would love to get my hands on one of those beautiful mugs, if you are not selling them anymore, then I'll get one of your lovely totes. All your work is so original, I'm always excited to see one of your posts Klaudia :)

Awww, this is very sweet of you @creativista, thank you for you continuing support! It means a lot :)

Oh, of course, we have to stick together to succeed ;)

I want to know how to get one of those mugs :)

Hi @mdbrantingham, thank you for your interest! Very cool of you ;) I don't have mugs on stock currently in my Etsy shop, this particular one on the photo is the last one that I use at home ;)
Thank you for stopping by :)
All the best!
Klaudia