Introducing Minimalist Cities - I want to draw your Hometown!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

What is your hometown and it's nickname?

I want to draw your hometown in minimal and I want to know it's nickname as I am relaunching my Minimalist Cities Series!

As I was looking for some new inspiration for today's Steemit post, I came across this old beauty and somehow refound my motivation for this!

666.png

(Slang) nicknames make it homey

Point about these series is to give a minimal but somewhat homey impression of one's hometown. That's why I would love to include nicknames of cities. I found this article which provides a list of some cities and their nicknames - however as someone from Amsterdam - I have never heard of The Venice of the North, and yet it is listed here.

divider

I am looking for those (slang) nicknames which are only known or used by locals.


It's like Amsterdam is called Mokum.

divider

A long time ago, I made a minimalistic map of Amsterdam.

I like minimal shiz and well.. Amsterdam is my hometown. I want to relaunch this because I think it's still prettay awesome and I am looking for more inspiration! It will become something like this :D

666.png

6661.png

Comment your hometown and it's nickname below!

I will most likely start out with the capitals. They're simply easier and more likely to be recognized! However, do not hestitate to request your smaller hometowns

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

Sort:  

My home town (village) does not have a nickname but its name is an mashup for words for "mountains" and "sheep".

Sounds very village-y indeed, hehe. Where are you from?

Slovakia and Im not sure it there are any sheep anymore. They used to be.....some.

very creative person you are..

Why thank you!

this is a good friend, my hometown is very beautiful I am proud to live in the village, because the air was very fresh.

Oo, where are you from :D

aceh indonesia my friend.
help upvote my posting friend.

the hometown is a peaceful place for our stay. this good post.

very good post friends.

Lusaka, Zambia. Nickname - LSK

That's cool,
I am from western part of Indonesia, the city is also called as City of the king ( translated from the local language)

Ohcool. What city is this? :d Super curious about the Indonesian name by the way!

cool idea. I don't think Diss has a nickname.... but it does have a portal to hell right in the center!

That sounds a lot like fun! All the cool people are in hell.

Ooh what a rad idea! My hometown is Ringwood NJ - and everyone called it The Sticks well because it’s mostly lakes and forests :)

Oooh, that sounds super cute! I checked it on Google Maps and it seriously in the middle of green!

haha yes it was a bit like growing up in middle earth <3

Cool idea! My hometown is Vienna (Wien) - Austria. Nickname: "Wean"

Ha thanks! And Wean sounds quite swaggy! "Where do you live?" "Weeeean yo".

haha yea, except it's not wee-an, it sounds more like the english word van but the a vowel is mixed with an e (but more like from the word "less" than from the word "we")

This was so interesting!

Its great post I think....@sjennon