Art Post Part 1 - Saint Francis of Assisi in His Tomb

in #art5 years ago

Here is a painting by Francisco de Zurbarán titled Saint Francis of Assisi in His Tomb at the Milwaukee Art Museum.

The artist did a really good job on the lighting.

I like how everything has an almost sepia gold tone to it.

Here's a close-up of the skull.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

What does the skull represent in this painting, do you know?

I went to the town Assisi and came back with a snow globe with St Francis in it. I was broke and it seemed like a cool little souvenir. I bring it out at Christmas. Very kitsch, I know. But you gotta have at least one snow globe.

I'm not sure, even the description didn't have too much info on the symbolism. It's probably just a symbol for the viewer to read into. Here's the full description http://collection.mam.org/details.php?id=9041

Posted using Partiko Android

Very cool!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I need an outfit like that.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love that kind of lighting.

I wonder if the painter had a light setup or if it was all done from imagination. It was probably some kind of torch lighting back then.

Posted using Partiko Android

It could be sun through a high window too.

Excellent!! This is really cool

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 2.74% upvote from us for your 395 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 17% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.