Inktober Canceled?

in #art4 years ago (edited)



Each year in October I would see all these cool drawings that people would post online. Most of the art was in black and white and came with a hashtag #inktober. I am not an artist nor do I play one on TV but who doesn't dream about being able to sit down and draw what is in their head?

It turns out Inktober is a challenge run each year. There is an official list of words for the 31 days of October. The challenge is to make an ink drawing each day and post it. By the end of the month, you will have 31 drawings you made, you learned a lot, and had fun doing it.





While spending time writing children stories I have wished for this talent more than once. You can pay others to draw illustrations for you but each person has their style just like writers do.

When opening subscription boxes a few months back I had ordered a monthly art subscription box called Paletteful Packs. Each month you received different kinds of higher-end art supplies. They give you some instructions along with prompts.

I messed around with the items I received. The Zombie writing contest came from one of my attempts at art.





I started watching some art channels on Hive and YouTube. The one channel that so far has taught me the most is DrawingWiffWaffles. I like watching her sketch. She makes mistakes and shows them. It was the first time I have seen someone erase so much, not get upset, but see it as part of the process of getting a concept in her head to paper that she liked.

It made a huge impression on me. One that had me picking up a pencil and paper, along with a large eraser, and try once more to learn how to draw more than stick figures.

About this same time the yearly Inktober subscription box was up for sale. It is not cheap but last year the box had nice supplies in it. Plus I wanted to see if I could do Inktober. It seemed like the perfect excuse to practice my drawing skills.





Unfortunately, a HUGE controversy came about when one artist accused the man that came up with the official Inktober list each year of plagiarizing his 'Pen and Ink Drawing: A Simple Guide' book already in print on Amazon.

Lines were drawn in the sand through the Art community. The consensus was to boycott Inktober. I watched a few videos about going forward with Inktober with the reasoning that it was something people liked to do. How you did not have to follow the official list. You could follow any list you want. Many people came forward with alternate themed lists you could use.

October first came and I forgot all about Inktober until I saw the fights on Twitter about people posting the artwork of Fish which was the first official prompt for Inktober. The comment section sounded like a good old fashion fishwife fight. One guy made me laugh at his comment so I downloaded his list and thanked him.








Grabbing my brand new sketchbook, that came in my kit, I started to draw a toad from a reference photo. I tried not going overboard in making it perfect. This was to be a fun month and much needed at that! I did not want to put extra pressure on myself that didn't need to be there.

I ended up liking what I drew. It wasn't a zombie toad but there was a dead bug in it which worked for me. I then got out the few inks I had received in another Paletteful Pack box along with the one paintbrush I owned. Taking a deep breath I proceeded to mix what I hoped was a color close enough to the reference photo.

Looking back I should have done a few things first. One was to practice on a clean piece of paper learning to paint with ink. The second was to make a copy of the pencil drawing before I started painting on it. Live and learn! In for a penny and a pound, I started to paint the belly of the toad. After a time I found myself getting stressed so I cleaned everything up and put my brush in a safe place to dry.





After some time had passed I went to start painting again and could not find my brush. I know. Believe me, I know. I looked through the black pens I had received and found an ink one. Still not bothering to practice with it I started outlining the toad. It did not go well. My hand kept moving while my brain was yelling at me to "STOP!" My hand finally heard my brain. I cleaned everything up again and went to sleep.

I wasn't stressed. I was learning after all. I jump before I test the water most times so this was nothing new to me.

This morning I was lucky enough to have a wonderful conversation with @Brisby. She and I talked about all kinds of things. One subject was the loss of my only paintbrush. Towards the end of our conversation, I reached down to the box that held the inks I had. Opening up the box what should I see in the mostly empty box? Yup! my paintbrush!! Your guess is as good as mine how it ended up in there this morning when it was not there last night.





With my toad already looking like he had gotten into a fight with a marker, I decided to take the safer route and pulled out some alcohol makers I had gotten in another Palletful Packs box. I told you they were good boxes! 😹 Alcohol makers will blend and make new colors just like inks will so I wasn't going too far off the beaten path using them.

On and off today I colored in my toad. I was very happy with how he turned out. Is it a masterpiece? No. It is the first piece of art I ever made from a prompt and finished though. I am proud I did not give up when things did not go as planned. I am proud I enjoyed every bit of what I had done while making it. It feels good.





I have a long way to go in learning to draw. For now, I am just going to enjoy each day as it comes and not put pressure on myself to have to do something. Yet each day you practice anything you do get better. The key is to always keep it fun!





Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Snook



All photos are mine unless otherwise stated
The Thumbnail photo can be found here



Gif made by @Snook



Sort:  

I like that people said 'meh' to all the drama and just worked around the issue to still have fun!
Your toad really does have a "Don't F#@% with' me look and you did great work with the eyes and the flower details too!
Your fly is just looking like.."fml". X^D. It knows it's done for.
Stuffed pig-nosed zebra Hugs to you!

Thank You so much for everything Brisby <3

crying happy tears

Thank YOU too Snook! Whips out a blue handkerchief for her sweet friend

Thank You so much for everything Brisby <3

crying happy tears

That is a wonderful toad :)

💜 Someday, I'd love to have a squirrely tea party where you two could meet and chat. Hoping that you and yours have been well through this crazy year, dear Agmoore.

🌷 🌷 🌷🐾 🌷 🌷 🌷

So nice to 'hear' your voice

Sorry. I was incredibly rude and drew back without saying goodbye for a while. Still love your 'friends' gif and showed my eleventh-grade daughter your college post. She's applying for every scholarship she can. Did you know that, should a person pass on while still owing student debt, it can pass on to their families? Federal programs and parent plus style loans will discharge the debt. But if the loan was consolidated to a private lender, it loses that protection. Terrible, isn't it? To have lost one's child - the absolute worst thing that can happen - and then to be hit with that notice from a bank.

Hello dear Brisby,
Not rude. Life intrudes. I missed you that's all 🌺 .
I didn't know about the 'fine print' that indentures families as well as students. Must have something to do with their minor status and parents are responsible. How many people know this?
I think student loans are like debtors prisons of earlier centuries. It is grotesque and they sell these to young people who have no understanding of the burden they are incurring.
There is nothing wrong with a good public college. It certainly beats going into debt for the next 20 years. I hope your daughter has a good college advisor to help her turn over every rock for all the exotic scholarships out there.
Be well, dear brisby. If we all make it through the next year....

You've me grinning again, sweet Agmoore. Thank you for that. 🌹 I have missed you and the fun we had together as well.

From what I read, the concern arises when a private lender is involved. I'm not sure how many people are aware of the differences between federal student loans and private ones with regard to debt collection in the event of a death or life-changing disability.

Here's the most recent article that I read:

https://www.thebalance.com/student-loans-after-death-4777625#:~:text=Federal%20student%20loans%20are%20not,get%20it%20discharged%20after%20death.

And this excerpt from a show my girls and I like named Adam Ruins Everything:

I had known about the deceased's estate being liable for the outstanding debt for private loans but had not thought of states that are subject to Community Property tax law. Some private lenders even have it stipulated that should the co-signer die, the balance of the loan is immediately due. Even if the primary party is still alive and making good on their payments. 😠

I agree with you about how grotesque it is that students are treated like sweet tasty lambs by preying lenders. Many adults aren't able to catch all of the stipulations put down in the 2 point font so how are they expected to?

Many high school counselors do their best but with so many students and the worry about assisting each one under time and budget constraints, not to mention that most are NOT proficient with more than basic financing, are unable to drive home the consequences of the debt our youth are acquiring.

"There is nothing wrong with a good public college. It certainly beats going into debt for the next 20 years." I 100% agree with this too. It's the teacher and the student striving together that makes all the difference. Prestige means nothing when there isn't effort and caring put forth.

Thank you and I'm hoping that your granddaughter has a great advisor as well, along with a family who is keeping an eye out for sharks with contracts.

Wishing you and yours all the best and keeping faith that we will get to see things get better. 🌼

Wow! That was chock full of information. I tweeted out the video and am going to share the article on twitter also.
My daughter and granddaughter have to see both.
I loved Richard Nixon in the video. That guy had him down pat :))
I'll be looking for you around, @brisby. I did miss you. 🌷 🌷

Thank You so much for the wonderful compliment. You make me want to keep going.

I love your toad, it looks like it will kick somebody's ass!

I am only going to reply to one of your comments LOLL

Thank you for always being there and for giving me the courage to be myself!

Looks like we have had some similar problems LOL

I am only going to reply to one of your comments LOLL

Thank you for always being there and for giving me the courage to be myself!

And you're most welcome 🤗

I love your toad, it looks like it will kick somebody's ass!

I love your toad, it looks like it will kick somebody's ass!

I love your toad, it looks like it will kick somebody's ass!

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thank You!!