Mixed Media Canvas Art - Part 9

in #art5 years ago

My canvas is still a work in progress. All the texture elements are in place, all covered up with gesso and ready to be painted. The painting process is not 1-2-3 thought. Multiple layers will create beautiful and mystic effects, at least this is what I am going after. Today I added splashes of colors, the biggest blocks. I use acrylic paints, various brushes and a spray bottle, to add water when necessary.

This is the result of today's work. Not ready yet, ok? Be patient, few more sessions left. The trunk of the tree in the left hand side is ready.

9-1.jpeg

I started with a dark brown. I mixed red, blue and yellow to make a cool purplish brown. I applied it evenly with a large flat brush. Sprayed water here and there, for better coverage.

9-2.jpeg

I wanted some highlights, so I added some orange color on the textured areas, especially the beads.

9-3.jpeg

Going to the left handside. The hair is symbolized by water, so blue it is! I use bonnet blue for the whole block, spraying occasionally for even coverage. Used different brushes for different textures.

9-4.jpeg

The last step today was to put some orange on the face. More colors will come on top of this orange, but some other time, maybe this weekend.

9-5.jpeg

See you soon!

This post is a part of my series "My Mixed Media Canvas Project". In case you missed the previous articles, you can read them here:

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

I already love the trunk's finished effects, can't wait for the rest to finish up.

Yes, I like it too. It came out better than I expected. I still want to paint a final layer of gold sheen on the trunk and on her face. And on the water some silver sheen. 😊

Hi starjewel,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much, I feel so honored!

Wow this is a really long term project that you're creating. I like that you keep updating us on your progress with this artwork, otherwise most of us wouldn't be aware of all the works that you have done so far.

The textures that you made for the blue hair and woody frame look really nice. I like looking at the details.

Grats for your curie vote, starjewel :).

I made it a long term project 😊 because I love to take my time, especially that I do tutoring work for living, and it is very boring. I need time to unwind and relax, and this project totally helps me. I’ve seen artists who do canvas art in a few sessions only.

Hey @starjewel, awesome piece of art :) I like that you choose different layers, it makes it 3D :)
Do you do it professional, because you defientaly could :)
Cheers,
M

I don’t do it professionally, it is my hobby. This is my first mixed media on canvas. I started so big! 😊 and I am not a painter, I am a wire sculpture artist! Go figure 😉

WOW Love how this is coming long the detail and texture in the trunk is amazing

PS congrats on the Curie :)

Thank you. Your kind words mean a lot to me. 🥰

Most welcome and just my honest thoughts 😎👍😎

Wow. You have blown me away with this amazing art! =)

I am surprising myself too 😂🤣😂 I will do a final slide show with all those pictures I took of the working progress, I think it will be cool.

Super awesome...👍 You are perfect with all these beautiful artwork...I remember those jewellery work that you did before and now all these canvas art...you are terrific....a grand salute 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you my friend, I appreciate your compliments. I am not perfect though 😉

Sign of a legend👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I like what you have created, it's my kind of style that I like...

Thank you, I love mixed media, it is so forgiving! You can use anything you want, you can recycle, it is awesome. I love to see creative things and I believe this form of art is creativity at its best.

I did mixed media in art college and loved it...

Yay, you are curied and your painting is intense!
Blessings!

Yay, I am very grateful and also very happy you stopped by. I love your photography 😊

Thank you for your kindness!
Blessings!

Wow. I admire you so much @starjewel Your art is incredible. So much love in your creativity ♥

Thank you sweety. I appreciate your words. And yes, I put a lot of of passion in my art and I am glad it shows. 🥰

Although it is not ready yet, it already looks very good @starjewel! Nice work. We just need to be a bit patient until it reaches the end state I guess :) Thanks for sharing!

Very nice, @starjewel ! I've been following since awhile and I really like how this is coming along :) The beads, the laces, the beautiful colours~ You are transforming that massive canvas little by little, placing thoughtful and wondrous elements at each its stages :D

I am excited to see the completion of this beautiful work, for sure !

Beautiful so far.
I love this technique. The combination of materials to provide different textures makes painting get closer to sculpture.
The palette of colors is just soothing. Perfect

Wow I really liked this! It honestly looks perfectly finished to me, but can't wait to see the end result! :) The colors look amazing, it already has such a nice mystic effect to it, and I love the style of the whole painting... truly well done!

😯😯😯😍😍😍

🔥🔥🔥🙏🔥🔥🔥

Posted using Partiko Android