Fabergé Eggs and Fancy Cups

in #art4 years ago

Back in January, I started printing in castable wax, with the intent of making jewellery. However, thanks to the outbreak of the Kung Flu, or Commie Cough, or however you want to refer to CovID-19, I haven't been able to start my foundry work, hence my continued experiments with wargaming miniatures. I originally shared that announcement here: https://kjworldsong.wordpress.com/2020/01/13/important-print-shop-update/

I decided to print this egg that I drew up:

Three-eagle egg.PNG

I sell a large, hollow version on Shapeways: https://www.shapeways.com/product/H95FRG6QF/three-eagle-egg?optionId=62495907&li=shops

The version that I printed, however, was solid and very small:
Wax egg.png

I also printed a ring:

Wax ring.png

Afterwards, I received an interesting suggestion, which was to print chalices in a similar size, rather like those tiny dollhouse coffee mugs with people's names on them. Therefore, using the same rendering techniques that I used to make the egg, I drew up a chalice:

Three-eagle chalice.PNG

There are multiple variants of this, and I think I'll start off by printing five of them:

Wax cups.PNG

In case it isn't clear, there are two double-headed eagle cups, one with two eagles and eight webs on the stem, one with three eagles and nine webs. In the centre is a chalice with a Maltese Cross (the shape of both the Blue Max and the symbol of the Black Templars), and the other two have different versions of the star of chaos.

When I finally get back to the foundry, I'll probably cast them in lead-free crown pewter, which is almost pure tin. I probably won't be able to film my first casting run, but I'll figure something out and, eventually, make an instructional video for anyone interesting in doing their own lost-wax casting.