Coming late to creativity

in #art6 years ago

Some of you may know I started writing songs a few years ago. Although I've played guitar most of my life I didn't think I could actually create music that others would be interested in. I didn't consider myself a particularly creative person. I'm more analytical and enjoy solving problems. But it seems I do have some spark of creativity. I've got some great feedback on songs I shared here on Steemit and with my local musician friends.

I also never got much into art. Of course I did it at school, but wasn't really into it. I have tried drawing things a few times over the years and some of it looked okay, but I didn't work on this skill. This week I had been doodling in my notebook at work. Due to nerve issues with my right hand my handwriting is even worse than it was and I was seeing how well I could control the pen. During a meeting I started drawing one of my colleagues and thought it didn't look too bad. I did the other the next day.

Sketches

I guess drawing is some combination of motor skills and observation. Of course everything improves with practice, so maybe I should pursue this. I'm sure there's plenty of tips out there. So far I've just tried faces in profile as that just seems easier. You can see I scribbled out a front on view as it was pretty terrible. I don't expect to be good straight away. After all, it's taken decades to get some reasonable skills at playing the guitar. The eternal problem is the finite nature of time. I have lots of things I want to do and need to get organised to make time for them all. That may mean cutting back on Steemit, even though I enjoy it.

Maybe we all have hidden talents. You just have to seek them out.

Steem on.

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged

Sort:  

As untalented as i am.. I am surrounded with friends that are either good writers or singers.. Nothing seems to come easy when other people seem to fly but you can’t quite do the things you want to do in the way you want.

I've learned that if you pour yourself into whatever you wish you had “talent” in you will eventually develop that skill... For most of us here, Steemit has helped us discover what we are good at.

Hopefully you'll get better at your drawing too... "Practice makes perfect". :))

Thank You!

Personally I got a very talented and artistic mother and brother, the two have an huge amount of skill drawing and painting.
As a kid I wanted to have a talent as big as they had, so I started drawing, I sucked at first but when I reached 12 I could draw decently I think...
that being said I didn't felt it was really my thing, I realised I could never be as good as they were...
I felt very disappointed at myself at the time, but, luckily, for random reasons, a guitar came to me and I fell in love with it. I could feel there was something special about it and I developed a very special connection with music.
I recognize myself as a musician and a guitar player, I really feel that playing electric guitar is the best thing I can do... But years ago I realized I wanted to sing too and I'm in a kind of strange relationship with singing.
I mean I don't thing i'm good but I'm still doing it... I keep trying to get better because as you said everything improves with practice
If I got to tell you something it would be to not give up on anything just because you didn't started young
Keep your motivation up, and practice whatever skill do you want to develop !

I came to singing late as well. I know I'll never be great, but I can entertain people. You just have to try these things and find your niche. If it makes you happy then go for it.

I think everyone's creative, just a matter of finding it and letting it loose! I'm not good at drawing but then again it's probably a learnable skill to a degree. Everyone has their natural talents but the majority of improvement and production comes from continuous, diligent work on a craft.
Agreed, not enough hours in the day for it all!

There were times when i could draw a portrait in just 10 minutes. It was easy for me. My drawings were accurate. It all happened with practice. I used to draw atleast one portrait in a day. Sometimes 2. Sometimes i used to draw difficult portraits again and again. This made it easy for me to draw the next thing.

I'll try to make it more of a habit and see how it goes.

I never quite got the hang for drawing. I just stick to the guitar and music. I think its important to just keep exploring things. We all have talents.

wow how long have you been playing guitar? can you play any 3 doors down songs? cool drawing, i can only draw very very detailed stick men lol

I've been playing around 40 years, but not always enough to get really good. I don't know any of their songs I'm afraid.

ahhh, its funny, all my years i was in the military every time a guitar some how came up, they new a bunch of their songs lol

You never know when it comes to doodling, what will happen.

I was doodling in a very boring meeting when I was in Police.
Everyone could see me doing it and nobody said anything, so I carried on.

At the end of the meeting my boss came up and said it was really good and asked if he could have it.

What could I say? So I let him have it.

I just wish i could translate that to laying a musical instrument.

I have negative talent when it comes to music. I am the anit-musician. I am where music goes to die.

I think there are very few people with no musical ability. People say they are tone deaf without knowing what it really means. I'm still discovering what I can do. Wish I'd done more when I was younger

Cool, that you are so adventurous. I think that playing music, drawing, dancing and writing poetry all such things are something all people should do more often. To me doing these things often it has been programming that was the big adventure :)

I don't know that I'm going to take up dancing just yet. I do enjoy creating. Too many people are just passive consumers

:) maybe you don't need all of them, but many people really gains from getting away from Britain's Got Talent in the telly, and trying out some of their own talents

I think it looks pretty hood, @steevc! I have always wanted to be better at drawing, but never really learned the basics, so at least you are a lot better than I am ;) I'm sure the guitar skills will be helpful if you are going to be learning and practicing, because as you said, motor skills are a huge part of it.

Best regards from @valth

very good @steevc keep it going.. I like your drawing..

Good for you, @steevc -- on all the creative fronts! I've always admired folks who respected their creativity and worked to build their skills in music and art. I've never been one of those folks myself! For 2018, I'm committing to see what I can learn on the piano, lol. I've always been a doodler at meetings -- they are good opportunities! But my doodles are true doodles. I kid you not.... As a full-fledged, non-inebriated adult, I have drawn a smiley face and completely missed the circle in putting the eyes and smile in it. Now I know to draw the circle last, lol. Good luck in all your creative pursuits in 2018 -- and use those meetings well! : )

Cheers. I only wish I'd tried some of these things when I was much younger, but life can be full of regrets if you are not careful. Good luck with the piano. I've played a bit, but was never great at it

Nobody is born learned, that if we have hidden talents, but you have to go polishing little by little, in practice and perseverance is success, I advise you to keep drawing, in addition you do better than many.

having talent is a gift but what happens when talent is ignored.
for those who do not have talent do not grieve we can train the ability to become an expert.

talent and expertise