The Way of The Shaman – Watercolour

in #art6 years ago

Throw your woo woo hats on for a minute as I explain simply and sharply, how Shamanism taught me to respect subtle life. To journey between the worlds takes dedication, preparation and a degree of fearlessness. There are parts beyond the three worlds that make you lose your self, your singularity, where all your beliefs are shattered and the realisation that you are nothing and simultaneously everything, sets you free for as long as you dare to stay.

I’ve dipped my toes here and to go back has proved nearly impossible, it is no easy feat. Body and mind are tools, vehicles and stepping stones to other realms. Permission must be granted, and connections must be nurtured when using the same space as other people, animals, plants and land. I was fortunate enough so spend a brief encounter with a Shaman once. I will not digress too much detail as I like to keep this experience quite close to me, but he chanted, danced, performed his blessings and saw straight in to my soul. I hadn’t even uttered a word and he felt my heart’s reaction to his calling, prompting his next diagnostic performance, he cut through me and fixed me to tears. It took days after that encounter to level out to my basic self and carry on through everydayness, but for that, I now understand how much I don’t know.

The knowledge of the Shamans is ancient, wrought with wisdom and harbours a deep understanding of how each and every one of us contributes and is necessary to the network of subtle connections, operating the universal law of expansion and contraction. Unfortunately, the ancient’s knowledge has been diluted by modern standards and money machines, and their way of the worlds goes, buried with them. So, in my attempt to pay respects to this ancient wisdom, these natural healers and weightless travelers, I managed to meet a few individuals who were willing to organise an event and auction off my watercolour painting of The Shaman amongst a line-up of other talented artists. It was the first time I’d stood on the end of a mic in front of a huge crowd, but seeing my friends in the sea of faces gave me strength to speak about the lost art form, and I was lucky enough to speak with the winning bidder at the end of the event. I know the painting now hangs on a wall of remembrance and appreciation, as the Native Indians were part of her heritage, her ancestors.


I like to sketch out my paintings on paper before I hit the big piece with paint.
It helps me get a feel for how it’s going to look and fix anything
that has mistranslated from my head through my hand. Here’s my sketch for this painting.

** Wisdom in stuff

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

An AMAZING post, @stuffing ! I love your connection between the spiritual self through your art, to the nature elements and the shamanism ! I can sense that you appreciate the art of shamanism genuinely and through meeting with one of them, there is some transmutation of the spirit between yourself and the world...

Too bad the modern world has kind of drown out this shamanism but I am glad to hear that your work was displayed and acquired well by a bidder :> Speaking in public about your own work seems very daunting, but you braved it well <3

As for the picture, I love the intense look you have given the shaman, there is something like a spiritual fortitude with his expression! Gorgeous colours <3 <3 <3

Goly thanks veryspider. Let me tell ya, if you can push through the scary bit of speaking about your work in front of an audience, the experience is enthralling. It helped that I believed in the subject too and happy you can spot that.
I’m grateful for your insight, understanding and encouragement :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Awesome work, @stuffing!

Shucks, thank you :D

This is incredible. The choice of colours makes it very unique

Thank you. I wanted the colours help convey a costume, used in performances of shamanism; lively and entertaining

Congratulations @stuffing! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This is really very nice!!!, I should follow you, so I can see more of your artworks!

Glad you liked it :D

I wish I could be like you soon I wish to exhibit my artworks too!!!😊

You can do it! Just have to stay peeled for opportunities

😍thank you!

beautiful painting :) i love it !

Yaaay thank you :D

Very lovely colours, look at some of them that you let to just melt down nicely. It is a very nice touch, and my favourite part is the blue shadow that you used to insinuate his body and part of the fur coat.          
         
Nicely done stuffing :D.          
         
-upvoted-          

Oh yes I see the part you mention, I wonder though would it be so apparent it was his body if it weren’t for the sketch. I’m glad you noticed though, thank you :D

You got a 42.90% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @stuffing!

I love the native american Indian culture and your depicting piece is simply exquisite my dear. Hope you're well?

Thank you Pete, there’s so much to learn about their culture it’s incredibly fascinating. Have to take the science hat off for it though haha - am very well I hope you are too

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because I wanted to revisit you!

During the last 64 days in the life of @worksinsane, your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. Now I decided to come back and I've also included you in my latest post: https://steemit.com/wecurate/@worksinsane/we-curate-10-2-revisited

Wooooooo-aaahhh many thank you for the inclusion and acknowledgment, who’s a happy person? Me! :D