I Hope You Die In a Fire (Illustrated Song)

in #art5 years ago


By suhasrawool on pixabay.com


Spotify is becoming really good at predicting which songs I might like and puts them in my weekly mix. A contrast between positive/energetic music and dark lyrics tends to do the trick most of the time.

This week's song is relatively new and has been uploaded to youtube on November 26th 2018.

It's been a while since I used a song as a template for some (shitty) sketches, but the lyrics here have been very straightforward, which allowed me to draw a little comic. As usual, it helps to deal with some things, although the things being dealt with in this case are already a bit older, from December/January. Still, it takes a while to process.

Do you have any songs that sound positive but the lyrics turn it around completely?


1.png


2.png


3.png


3.png


Guitar Solo


3.png


4.png

Sort:  

Hi! I wrote this song, and occasionally I do a search to see if it got mentioned anywhere, and I was delighted to find your blog. I got a Steem account just so I could post here. I didn't know what Steem was until I found your blog, the entire concept is fascinating and has my mind racing. I love your drawings. You totally got the vibe, and coming across this blog was such a delightful experience. Thank you for sharing it.

Omg, just saw this comment. I did not expect you to ever find this, ever! :'D

Glad you like it tho, I connected with this song on a deep level.

I'm going to delegate you 50 SP so you have more resource credits available and can explore the Steem blockchain better!

it helps to deal with some things, although the things being dealt with in this case are already a bit older

I think, sometimes... we just sort of have to keep going back and processing something over and over, and it means feeling it over and over, and that sucks... because it can feel like not just a step back but a giant leap.

Suddenly all the progress you have made is "gone," you are back "where you started" and it is just fucking unfair, because you already dealt with this; you already moved on from this... but oh hey, says your brain, remember this thing that happened?

I think the thing to hold onto here is that it isn't actually a leap backwards and you are not actually starting from scratch. It just turns out that what you felt before was premature enlightenment. You have still done all the processing and you have still grown from it. You are just not done growing yet; you did not yet get everything you were supposed to get out of it; you did not digest it completely yet. So you are going back for another pass. That's okay. You'll be okay... and you will come out better on the other side.

Do you have any songs that sound positive but the lyrics turn it around completely?

Oh, I love songs like this. Oasis by Amanda Palmer is one of my favourites.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=8C17yfGyJjM

The music is so happy and carefree-sounding, yet it deals with a girl getting raped at a party and having to deal with being shamed for it by pro-life protesters and even her "best friend." I feel like the music and light-hearted atmosphere is a metaphor for the emotional detachment she uses to cope with the situation, and the lyrics also show this... Yeah all this stuff happened but actually look: life is great, I got an autographed photo from Oasis! Eeeeee!

Here is another one I have found more recently and has made me laugh during some really dark times. I hope you enjoy it:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Ho1LgF8ys-c

Congratulations @suesa-random! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

This is an authentic song to light the flame of love ......... From love to fire! Hahaha! That song is good to dedicate to a friend on the day of love and friendship! Hahaha! =)

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

No thanks. I'm happy with using steempeak and would prefer you not posting your referral links below my posts. Thanks.