The Unicorn Lady

in #art3 years ago

A blog post that took me 7 days to finish, from starting concept to finally being able to push the posting button successful. Find out why... if you're curious...

unicorn ladywithlogo.jpg

The Idea:

Imagine a place where the veil between worlds, dimensions, parallel universes is ripped apart:

Perhaps someone touched the nuclear red button, perhaps some unknown and vast thingie came from outer space... Something big and with a naughty and vast sense of humour, something so vast and immense we cannot grasp the size of it... something which cared nothing for humans!

Things would get confusing rather quickly, resetting the minds of the people, imbuing the crowds with madness.

What would you do if a woman with a horn, a demon or a unicorn centaur hybrid, appeared at your window sill with a bouquet of some fragrant, unknown, flowerless plant?

Around you there were mostly deserted lands, because someone who complained from too much carbon dioxide in the environment had made laws to force people to cut most of the trees down in a recent past, unaware that trees breath the carbon dioxide and give much needed oxygen. What's even more weird, what if the Unicorn Lady walked through glass windows and walls as if there was nothing there?

Would you have a cunning plan?

Most people don't like change. I never minded a little change. In fact it is the unchanged that drives me to madness, the ordinary and the lack of laughter. So I ponder things like these to amuse myself.

What if there was nothing you could do, except turn into frightened jelly, no reaction from your brain except freezing, like a bunny at night in a highway. The mind can be tricky like that, it can go into oblivion in a blink. Too much stress and you end up doing stuff you have no recollection afterwards.

Wouldn't that be amazingly interestingly? To see strange and magically beings?

These annoying thoughts come to me sometimes on lazy weekend afternoons when I'm too tired to do anything else but muse on dreams while half awake in the sofa.

The image above is the fruit of the labours of my silly imagination, old photographs and new avenues of study:

I'm attempting to learn to work with Inkscape which I never bothered too much with before this April started.

I wanted something simple, with an oriental flavour to it, a kind of old golden scroll or idea that illuminated the grey foggy day of today.

I went for a cardio exam this morning (10th April)... the doctor, who was almost an hour late, said my heart wasn't a normal heart. It made me laugh inside. Aren't we all unique? Silly me!


Project took around 6 hours to complete, started in the middle afternoon around 5 pm and finished around 11 pm of April 10th 2021.


The Process:

  • Sky pictures were taken over the past few years, my face last week.
  • Inkscape drawing, which set the process in motion, was also made in the same time frame as the finished piece.
  • Self Portrait with Webcam (using rain filter).
  • Finished layering, filters, with Gimp.

Camera: HP Photosmart M537Software: Inkscape, Gimp, Cheese.Webcam: Kunft

inkscape process1.pnginkscape process3.png
Started doodling on Inkscape, proceeded to import the result to Gimp Where I added several photo layers.Next applied some color filters and fiddled with color properties.Lastly, took a Webcam picture and mixed and matched. Got rid of some layers. Stretched side panels of image to desired size.

The Blog Post Diary

  • I started this on the 10th of April, but as I have few Resource Credits I was unable to post until now.

It has been a different experience for sure having all this time to polish it, being unable to publish immediately.

I took the time to educate myself a little on Markdown Styling and Communities and socializing a little by voting and commenting (hence always running out of RC).

So I kind of ended with a template for future posts which is a good thing and a time saver next time.

  • Today is the 13th. I went for a walk under the rain. Yesterday I spent all day burning pruning debris that was accumulating on the back of the yard. I took no photos but maybe I will do it next time. I chose a a persimmon branch to carve a staff.

In the morning I went for a walk, running some errands and acquired some crystals. Saw a gorgeous Smoky Quartz but didn't bring it home yet.

Slept all afternoon. When I woke up, it was already night. Because of that I wasn't sleepy ans was at the computer until 4 Am. Experimented a bit more with Inkscape, trying to do a divider with it but ended up with "Dolls Playing with Color" which you can see below.

  • So today is the 17th April, all in all it took me 7 days to finish this post while gathering enough RC to post.

It's good to discover new things. Dolls Playing With Colours: Project duration was around 8 hours working on Inkscape and Gimp.


Thank you for spending your time with me and engaging with my content. May you find bliss, peace and prosperity in every moment of your life.



Donations accepted at:
0x8457700b8322dC395ff060eFD16de0f46C900Aee


My Next Post:
Surreal Mantra
DollsPlayingWthColor.jpg
Dolls Playing With Clolours
All Rights Reserved
Sort:  

I like the way you tell stories behind it! Keep going and nice to know you on Hive.

Well, congrats for being OCD Nomination of The Day in this post: OCD Daily: Issue #744


Well, it would be better if you can post in the related community currently curated and supported by @OCD for better support, such as:


For the information, the communities we're curating right now please check OCD Communities Incubation Program - Update #23. You are welcome to cross-post your posts from that community onto OCD with the peakd.com feature to get more visibility and engagement from the OCD subscribers.


image.png

Thank you for your kind words! And thank you for the nomination. I will keep your advice in mind for my next post. I need to probably to learn a little bit more about how communities work until then. Have a wonderful day :)

Congratulations @surrealmantra! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!