Bullshit Morning Doodles

in #art2 years ago

Earlier this year, I found myself in an unusual position for a freelance illustrator; a staffed position as the Lead Artist for an NFT company. It was weird and brief, but it came with a salaried paycheck twice a month. It also took up most of my drawing time through out the day.

Front Cover.jpg

It was odd to not be able to share the work I was making every day with the people on my social media and my Patreon. It was also weird to feel pretty creatively exhausted from day to day, as I was also tattooing about 20 to 30 hours a week. I still felt the urge to create. But didn't have much to give. So I started doing a small doodle in the morning over my coffee and cigarettes.

Page 02.jpg

Straight pen, with a little bit of watercolor. Stream of consciousness stuff, whatever was swimming around in my head before I was fully awake.

Page 25.jpg

Much like my comic strip ALWAYS KINDA ITCHY, I was a bit shocked by the enthusiasm in the reactions to these pieces. I did one a day for about a month and a half, until the sketch book I was using was filled.

Page 27.jpg

Once the sketchbook was filled, I decided to scan em all and put them together into a book. The Bullshit Morning Doodles collection is a little over 60 full color pages. Perfect bound, 8x10.5in. Each one comes signed and numbered. There is a deluxe option as well, which includes one of the original pieces of art from the collection. And, because its the digital age, there is a PDF version available as well.

Page 42.jpg

Anyway, I figured I'd share a few, and a link to my webstore as well, in case anyone wants to see the rest of the collection. https://www.swarddraws.com/shop

XOXO
-Adam

Sort:  

Those are awesome. Really nice job. I know I have said it before, but I wish I had even a hint of a creative bone in my body. I'd probably squander it even if I did! :P