The Mummy (Alt. Movie Poster)

in #art5 years ago

Hey y’all! I took some time last week after plowing through an avalanche of commissioned work to make something for myself. The 1999 of The Mummy was out on Netflix recently, and I forgot how much I loved hat flick. I decided to make an alt movie poster for it for my own personal collection.

0F0C672F-A9DE-4B71-AC6B-A02735BEC64D.jpeg

I managed to take a few progress shots along the way as well.

627B34B1-1135-4627-947F-D1A92B51FAD1.png

7D6A2EC6-83EA-407A-90D2-79C06E7523A7.png

D638F7D1-426A-48DF-A2CB-484122A6E96F.jpeg

Once I completed the two primary portraits, I actually did a version with a few of the secondary characters as well, but it seemed a bit too cluttered

F97945B8-9D45-488B-B9F3-DD733E09F03E.jpeg

In the end, the simpler portrait of the two leads seemed best.

EF5FA9E4-9D89-47CC-92D0-214FE6018938.jpeg

Thank you for looking!

Sort:  

This turned out awesome!! I’m also a fan of this movie so when I spotted it on Netflix I did a little happy dance. Don’t know how I feel about the other films that followed but it’s my guilty pleasure.

I dug The Mummy Returns, but the third one lost me.

Your poster art looks really nice, the characters' are conveyed nicely and ideally :D.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This is absolutely incredible!

Amazing artwork @swarddraws I hope you will share your skill of drawing in this nTopaz contest

Very nice. I like the intensity of Brendan Fraser and Rachel Weisz looks as lovely and fetching as ever. :)

I concur that the poster having more of the cast did tend to clutter it up a bit, so I think it's just as well you left them off. Most people will recognize the movie by the leads, anyway.

The first two Mummy movies were really good. The third one wasn't as good, though I still liked it. The reboot movie I also liked, but more people didn't, so it will be interesting to see if there's a sequel now that the Tom Cruise character is channeling the Egyptian God Set.

I think the first two movies were fun, with some mild jumps, along with some whimsy and romance thrown in. This latest attempt really didn't have much of any of that. No chemistry really between the love interests and not nearly as fun or amusing.