You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apocalyptic | Disturbing | Relentless | Unforgiving

in #art5 years ago

That is an incredible work. Looking at the images you posted I get the feel of the horror and then seeing the details of the images I took at auschwitz reflected, it connects at a different point again.

A master art piece should have the viewer question what is seen and search themselves for answers, and this accomplishes that with a rawness rarely seen.

There is art to hang on a wall, and art that is anchored to a soul.

I wouldn't want this piece in my home, but it definitely belongs in a gallery. While not for kids, the question for those who turn away might be, why can't you look?

Sort:  

It has been on my mind all week. I want to go back and look again. To be honest an observer almost needs a lightly magnified set of binoculars to reach inside the piece. To observe from behind the glass is insufficient. It's raw, yes, a good way to describe it. Such amazing detail. Just this piece alone is worth the trip to the gallery.

I don't do it justice with my limited understanding I think.