ILLUSTRATING TECHNIQUES

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit! Today I will be showing you some of my work in different styles and techniques!

I will drop a few words behind each piece I made here. Just wanted to show you that you can go in various directions when making art with a bunch of approaches.

The most important thing (for me) is that illustrating makes you happy, and if it doesn't sometimes when a client orders something you do not find interesting enough, you can always push yourself a bit and find your creativeness inside. You can find some little things that can make you happy during your work.

In the end everyone can be happy with the results and you can find a great drive to achieve better results by just making it fun! Possibly you will do better live longer and look younger :D

Here are the drawings:

23380374_10155867934969836_6033511519147255381_n.jpg

For this one I used digital approach, all was done on a personal computer with a drawing pad, colors and lines are done digitally with an initial sketch. I was drawing a wizard/trickster and wanted to make it chaotic. So in order to do that I just twisted the perspective for all the elements since this guy is an illusionist. Some may think it is a drawing mistake some found it interesting. When you get people to talk about your work it is successful in many cases.

23519386_10155879635789836_3985923226572518203_n.jpg

Here we have a mix between Deadpool, zombie and Batman. It was done digitally, and this is a vector drawing. As you can see the style is not in any way similar to the previous one. It is simple and clean, can be used for prints and stickers etc. It was really fun doing this too.

23794754_10155890407319836_964470401620940404_n.jpg

This guy has a more realistic comic approach, done digitally and colored too. Washed out colors did the work here. I prefer my drawings to be flashy but this guy needed a tone of seriousness. It is not my best work by a long-shoot but it was fun doing it. That facial expression pulled the strings.

scissors.jpg

This one was done quickly all in digital. Needed to make her look tough and you can achieve that with a background statement. Here it is just done by lines in order to make it simple yet effective. You do not want to mess with her :D

18402283_10155304410509836_315470089018368593_o.jpg

Now this is an interesting one. Remember those pizza monsters from TMNT that resembled aliens from Ridley Scott movies? This is one of them :D I used regular pencil for this one than took a photo of it with my phone then colored and detailed it digitally. It was a fun approach and the result is strange I guess. I really liked working on that one.

23380163_10155857043949836_3133180789111395782_n.jpg

Yet another out of place illustration since it's a vector drawing. I was inspired by Blanka from Street Fighter series to make this villain design, mixed it up with a venom simbiote properties a bit. Done with a drawing pad. Action pose did a thing here, characters can be more expressive when in some sort of movement instead of just standing plain. If you can add action to your character drawings and in the process you do not loose design clarity it's a win win!

12022464_10153609158279836_4551351419727449910_o.jpg

This one is a sea creature drawn with hand and colored digitally with a drawing pad. Guess what, that medusa detail here is what makes it interesting and leaves more of an impression. The line in the background which is a medusa trail gives some action to it. Was really fun to do this one :)

Hope you liked this post and found some useful tips, I will post some more with a better attention to processes of making illustrations. See you later, gotta work on STEEM POWERED HERO #3.

ja.jpg

And my reaction face when people ask me to do designs for them instead of illustrating for the conclusion of a post. Drew over a photo here, done digitally with a drawing pen in vectors :D Have a great day!!

Sort:  

I am interested in your artwork, because the results are good and anyone who sees it will be satisfied

Thank you!!

Really nice work!
I am also trying illustrations from time to time, just for the fun of it :)
Here are some examples:
image

image

I hope you like it :)

All the best!

Thanks! Cool art man, I really like how the bird turned out!

Thank you! :)

The pizza monsters who would frisbee the sewer lids in TMNT's faces?! YES!
Beyond impressive. You've got a new fan :)

YEAH! Those guys! Thank you! Glad someone remembers that too :D

Very cool! Keep up the good work!

Thanks! Always good works in here ;)

Thank you very much! Thank you for all the support man!

You're very welcome!

Awesome post I included it in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Thank you for the support, really glad you like it!!

hey man these are so good! i just started and i posted a few.. any tips will be super helpful!

Thank you! I will try to look trough all tomorrow and comment, liked the samurai one a lot :)

pow pow nice work bud! I'll be checking you out. following

Thank you! Glad you like it