The Joy of Making Christmas Cards and Sharing Love

in #art2 years ago (edited)

This year, I was encouraged by a friend of mine to create Christmas cards. She raised the point that, with so much of our lives moving in the direction of digital, it means more to receive an old-school 3D card that you can touch, feel, and hang on your wall.

I have always had a difficult relationship with cards. When I was younger, I had a hard time keeping up with birthdays and holidays. I couldn't cope with the demands that cards would bring. I even wrote a poem once to my Grandmother, who would get upset if I forgot to send her a card, saying that love doesn't require an external expression and that I love her no matter if I remember to send a card or not.

Later on, I moved to ecards because I was concerned about the environmental costs of cards. Then I became so isolated in my life due to the constraints of an abusive relationship that I lost the need for cards altogether.

As I've begun to reclaim my life, I'm restoring and finding value in old traditions, and this year it has been sending homemade cards.

I love the fact that, even though these are not great works of art, they are a little packet of love sent from me to them. I took the time to make it and send it to them is where the value lies. (My mum said she is thinking of framing hers. No commercial card can invoke that response!)

I have come to love the art of making gifts this year too. I'll post about them after Christmas. The whole process, although time-intensive, has brought meaning and joy to my heart. I can't wait to see their faces as they open the cards and gifts I've made. This kind of heart-gifting is what Christmas should be all about.

Here are my cards:
IMG_1549.jpeg

IMG_1501.jpeg

IMG_1535.jpeg

IMG_1579.jpeg

IMG_1581.jpeg

IMG_1584.jpeg

IMG_1499.jpeg

IMG_1529.jpeg

Sort:  

Thanks to @clareartista, @ninasophia, and @vincentnijman for you company as I made these cards! <3

Beautiful. These times together creating are an absolute joy ❤️❤️

Posted using Dapplr

Same @ninasophia, I love our sessions together creating, chatting, and connecting. Such joy! ❤️

Awesome!

I am now considering to do something similar, for my family members in Hollland. I just need to find a way to get my arty cards to The Netherlands before Christmas...

and as snail mail is extra slow these days, I might need to go for digitized analog art.

Thanks for inspiring me! :^)

Yeah, next year I'm going to have to start much eariler. I didn't realise it would take as long as it did to make these, plus the fact I'm also making gifts of art and crochet! So when you factor in the extra slow snail mail...

I look forward to seeing what you create and glad to hear you are feeling inspired @vincentnijman! :D

Aaaah, they look glorious all together like this - bravissima, @theastone - it's a lovely post about creating rather than consuming - beautiful 🎨💝💗

Thanks @clareartista, it is amazing when you look back on what you did - how it all adds up! Yeah, this year has all been about the joy of creating and how good it feels to gift in this way.

Congratulations @theastone! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It's beautiful to see that you're in the process of reclaiming your life and restoring your values. I hope you can trust yourself in the process, follow your instinct and listen closely to the wise inner voice you surely have. It's good to see that art is helping you, and will continue to do it, through this path. Sending good vibes and good health your way!