“Wires” - Collaborative Art Project (@everlove)

in #art7 years ago


Seeing @everlove's collaborative art I decided to join. I wanted to take upon this challenge to see if I can still create beautiful images now that I'm without a powerhouse of a PC (I used to be on a 8 hyperthreaded 2.4Ghz machine).
 

The design progress

The image looks like it has made major steps from the original that @everlove posted. But the opposite is true.
 
For this image i just opened up Houdini (my main tool of use) and started playing around. It fuels me creatively and also learns me more of this complex piece of software. Lately I am very much into geometry manipulation and tried to get a fast result with limited rendering capability. Hence wires...
 
 
I start out with a grid and project the image onto the points. The "wires" are already created for me and just need to get the color onto the wires.
   
I give the the lines some height difference to create an interesting landscape. The height of the little bumps are determined by amount of red, green and blue of the original image. After the height (displacement) adjustment I smooth out the geometry.
   
Nothing interesting here, I just blur the image until I have more uniform colors.
   
Get up really close with the camera, add some lights to your scene and you end up with your Tron like landscape.
 

 
 

Creative Commons License

All images from thebatchman.nl domain in this article are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

 
 


If you missed my last post on my 3d Pyrotechnics study... It's here.

Watch my videos on steemspeak.com!


 

Follow me, I post about awesome 3d art

@thebatchman

Sort:  

Yay! You joined in the play!! So fun to see the approach with which you transformed my photo. Awesome work @thebatchman. Can't wait to see what you come up with next. The next collaboration coming soon.

Thank you @everlove. Can't wait until the next one :)

Congratulations @thebatchman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great work. I have tried a couple of times to pick up Houdini... sops vops ??? I may be making it harder than it is. Keep up the good work.

Sops Vops CHops Rops Dops and yes even Cops. Haha yeah the terminology goes all over the places, but actually make sense once you know the abbreviations :)

I am sort of getting it after a couple of tries. Channel Opss etc. I played a bit with the HOT toolset for water dynamics. Then just used Real Flow.

Funny, I followed that exact same route when I started doing dynamics. In hindsight, If you really want to do dynamics and full FX work skip directly to Houdini.

@thebatchman hi, it's been almost a month
write again :)
btw than you for your support

Congratulations @thebatchman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @thebatchman! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @thebatchman! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Sweden vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thebatchman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!